Skip to Main Content

Details | State of Illinois Office of the Illinois Courts

Illinois Judges Receive Recognition and Awards


October 29, 2018


Illinois judges are increasingly being recognized for their dedicated work in courtrooms throughout the state. Here are some of the recent honors received by Illinois judges:

  • 7th Judicial Circuit Court Chief Judge John W. Belz, 8th Judicial Circuit Court Chief Judge Diane Lagoski, 22nd Judicial Circuit Court Chief Judge Michael J. Sullivan, and 23rd Judicial Circuit Court Chief Judge Robbin J. Stuckert were honored on October 19, 2018, with the “Shonkwiler Award”. Named after former 6th Judicial Circuit Court Chief Judge John P. Shonkwiler, the award given to Chief Judges at end of their term with the Chief Judges Conference.


  • Cook County Circuit Judge Mary Colleen Roberts was recently honored with the Pride and Recognition Award for her role as a founding member of the Alliance of Illinois Judges, an organization founded in 2009 by openly gay and lesbian members of the judiciary.
  • The Hon. Harold Jensen was honored on October 12, 2018, as the recipient of the the Distinguished Bench and Bar Award from the University of Illinois College Of Law. The award recognizes an alumnus for "tireless service" to the UI law school, significant contributions to the legal profession, and service to the community.


Have you recently received an award? Please let us know at