Skip to Main Content

Details | State of Illinois Office of the Illinois Courts

Illinois judges receive recognition and awards


Illinois judges are increasingly being recognized for their dedicated work in courtrooms throughout the state. Here are some of the recent honors received by Illinois judges:

  • Illinois Supreme Court Justice Lisa Holder White was named this month as the Person of the Year for 2022 by Chicago Lawyer Magazine, which remarked on her “dedication and steadiness” leading to her being the first Black woman to sit on Illinois’ highest court.
  • Illinois Supreme Court Chief Justice Mary Jane Theis was honored on December 6, 2022, by Diversity Scholarship Foundation as the recipient of Unity Award at the Unity Award Gala in Chicago. The Unity Awards recognize the tireless efforts of individuals who have made significant contributions to the legal community and the community at large, including embracing diversity and the ideals diversity represents.
  • First District Appellate Court Justice Debra Walker was honored on December 9, 2022, by the Illinois Bar Foundation as the recipient of the 2022 Distinguished Service to Law & Society Award at the ISBA Midyear Meeting in recognition of her significant contributions to law and society, including her dedicated service to the Illinois Bar Foundation throughout the years.
  • Lake County Circuit Judge Daniel B. Shanes and Fourth District Appellate Court Justice Kathryn E. Zenoff were honored on December 8, 2022, by the Jewish Judges Association of Illinois. Judge Shanes was the 2022 recipient of the Honorable Seymour Simon Justice Lifetime Achievement Award and Justice Zenoff was the 2022 recipient of the Honorable Ilana Diamond Rover Lifetime Achievement Award at the 18th Annual Justice, Lifetime Achievement, and Public Service Awards and Installation Dinner.

Have you recently received an award? Please let us know at