Skip to Main Content

Details | State of Illinois Office of the Illinois Courts

476 new attorneys admitted to practice in Illinois


May 25 , 2017

Justices of the Illinois Supreme Court and the Illinois Appellate Court administered the attorney’s oath to 476 new attorneys on Thursday, May 4, at five separate locations across the state.

The largest group, 327, was admitted in the First Judicial District during three ceremonies at the James R. Thompson Center Assembly Hall, located at 100 W. Randolph St., in Chicago. The ceremonies were at 9 a.m., 11:30 a.m., and 2:30 p.m.

All of the candidates sworn in have passed the Illinois State Bar Examination and a required ethics examination and were certified by the Supreme Court Committee on Character and Fitness. They bring the total number of licensed attorneys in Illinois to approximately 96,700.

Appellate Justice Margaret S. McBride presided over the 9 a.m. ceremony.

Guests of the morning ceremony included Natalie Howse, president of the Cook County Bar Association; and Hariklia Karis, president of the Hellenic Bar Association.

Sharon Strickland moved for admission of the class.

Justice Charles E. Freeman and Appellate Justice Cynthia Y. Cobbs presided over the 11:30 a.m. ceremony.

Guests of the second First District ceremony included Hon. Russell Hartigan, president-elect of the Illinois State Bar Association; and Claudia Castro, president of the Hispanic Lawyers Association. Justice Cobbs moved for admission of the class.

Justice Mary Jane Theis presided over the 2:30 p.m. ceremony.

Guests of the afternoon ceremony included Daniel M. Kotin, president of the Chicago Bar Association and Frank A. Sommario, president of the Justinian Society. Kotin moved for admission of the class.

Kenneth G. Jablonski, clerk of the Illinois Attorney Registration and Disciplinary Commission, served as acting marshal at all three of the First District ceremonies.

In addition to Chicago, ceremonies were held Thursday in Collinsville, Elgin, Ottawa and Springfield.

Supreme Court Chief Justice Lloyd A. Karmeier presided over the Fifth Judicial District ceremony at 2 p.m. at Gateway Center, 1 Gateway Dr. in Collinsville.

Supreme Court Justice Robert R. Thomas presided over the Second Judicial District ceremony at 10 a.m. at Hemmens Memorial Building in the Elgin Civic Center Plaza, 45 Symphony Way, in Elgin.

Supreme Court Justice Thomas L. Kilbride presided over the Third Judicial District ceremony at 11 a.m. at the Third District Appellate Courthouse, 1004 Columbus St. in Ottawa.

Supreme Court Justice Rita B. Garman presided over the Fourth Judicial District ceremony at 10 a.m. in the Courtroom of the Illinois Supreme Court Building, 200 E. Capitol Ave. in Springfield.