Skip to Main Content

Details | State of Illinois Office of the Illinois Courts

Over 1,300 new attorneys admitted to practice in Illinois


November 29, 2017

Justices of the Illinois Supreme Court and the Illinois Appellate Court administered the attorney’s oath to approximately 1,335 new attorneys on Thursday, November 9, at five separate locations across the state.

The largest group, 1,022, was admitted in the First Judicial District during two ceremonies at the Arie Crown Theater, located at 2301 S. Lake Shore Drive, in Chicago. The ceremonies were at 9:45 a.m. and 12:45 p.m.

All of the candidates sworn in have passed the Illinois State Bar Examination and a required ethics examination and were certified by the Supreme Court Committee on Character and Fitness. They bring the total number of licensed attorneys in Illinois to approximately 98,000.

Supreme Court Justice Mary Jane Theis presided over the 9:45 a.m. ceremony.

Guests of the morning ceremony included Dartesia Pitts, president of the Cook County Bar Association; Randy K. Johnson of the Illinois Board of Admissions to the Bar; and Hon. Cecilia Horan, president of the Lesbian and Gay Bar Association.
Judge Stuart E. Palmer moved for admission of the class. Judge Robert W. Bertucci seconded the motion.

Supreme Court Justice Anne Burke presided over the 12:45 p.m. ceremony.

Guests of the second First District ceremony included Judge Russell Hartigan, president of the Illinois State Bar Association; Arlene Coleman of the Illinois Board of Admissions to the Bar; and Elizabeth B. Herrington, president of the Seventh Circuit Bar Association.

Judge LeRoy K. Martin, Jr. moved for admission of the class. Judge James M. Bailey, Judge Luciano Panici, Richard F. Pellegrino, and Steven M. Elrod seconded the motion.

Kenneth G. Jablonski, clerk of the Illinois Attorney Registration and Disciplinary Commission served as acting marshal at both of the First District ceremonies.

In addition to Chicago, ceremonies were held in Carbondale, Elgin, Kankakee and Springfield.

Supreme Court Chief Justice Lloyd A. Karmeier presided over the Fifth Judicial District ceremony in the Auditorium of Southern Illinois University's School of Law in Carbondale.

Supreme Court Justice Robert R. Thomas presided over the Second Judicial District ceremony at Hemmens Cultural Center, 45 Symphony Way, in Elgin.

Supreme Court Justice Thomas L. Kilbride presided over the Third Judicial District ceremony at Kankakee Community College, 100 College Drive in Kankakee.

Supreme Court Justice Rita B. Garman presided over the Fourth Judicial District ceremony in the Auditorium of the Michael J. Howlett Building, Second and Jackson Street, in Springfield.