Skip to Main Content

Details | State of Illinois Office of the Illinois Courts

Over 1,200 New Attorneys Admitted to Practice in Illinois


November 27, 2018

Justices of the Illinois Supreme Court administered the attorney’s oath to approximately 1,283 new attorneys on November 8 at five separate locations across the state.

The largest group, 1,051, was admitted in the First Judicial District during two ceremonies at the Arie Crown Theater, located at 2301 S. Lake Shore Drive, in Chicago. The ceremonies were at 9:45 a.m. and 12:45 p.m.

All of the candidates sworn in have passed the Illinois State Bar Examination and a required ethics examination and were certified by the Supreme Court Committee on Character and Fitness. They bring the total number of licensed attorneys in Illinois to approximately 98,000.

Supreme Court Justices Mary Jane Theis and P. Scott Neville, Jr. presided over the 9:45 a.m. ceremony.

Guests of the morning ceremony included Steven M. Elrod, president of the Chicago Bar Association; Kalia Coleman, vice-president of the Black Woman Lawyers' Association; and Randy K. Johnson of the Illinois Board of Admissions to the Bar.
Appellate Justice Mary K. Rochford and Jerome E. Larkin moved for admission of the class.

Justice P. Scott Neville, Jr. presided over the 12:45 p.m. ceremony.

Guests of the second First District ceremony included Urie Clark, president of the Cook County Bar Association; Radhika Lohia, president of the Asian American Bar Association; and Thomas Clancy of the Illinois Board of Admissions to the Bar.

Stephen D. Phillips moved for admission of the class. John S. Mrowiec seconded the motion.

Kenneth G. Jablonski, clerk of the Illinois Attorney Registration and Disciplinary Commission, served as acting marshal at both of the First District ceremonies.

In addition to Chicago, ceremonies were held in Carbondale, Elgin, Joliet and Springfield.

Supreme Court Chief Justice Lloyd A. Karmeier presided over the Fifth Judicial District ceremony in the Auditorium of Southern Illinois University's School of Law in Carbondale.

Supreme Court Justice Robert R. Thomas presided over the Second Judicial District ceremony at Hemmens Cultural Center, 45 Symphony Way, in Elgin.

Supreme Court Justice Thomas L. Kilbride presided over the Third Judicial District ceremony at the Renaissance Center, 214 North Ottawa Street, in Joliet.

Supreme Court Justice Rita B. Garman presided over the Fourth Judicial District in the Auditorium of the Michael J. Howlett Building, Second and Jackson Street, in Springfield.