Skip to Main Content

Details | State of Illinois Office of the Illinois Courts

JusticeCorps Fellows Honored for Improving Access to Justice


June 24, 2019

The Illinois Supreme Court Commission on Access to Justice (Commission) is pleased to recognize the awards achieved by the 2018-2019 Illinois JusticeCorps (ILJC) Fellows. Representing a diverse range of backgrounds and experience, ILJC Fellows served in 13 courthouses throughout the state this year. In their one-year term of service, they helped facilitate access to justice by assisting self-represented litigants in navigating the court system, and providing useful information and proper referrals to local resources. JusticeCorps is an invaluable partner to civil legal aid providers throughout the state in providing effective and compassionate guidance to self-represented litigants. The Commission is proud to partake in this unique collaboration between the courts, the Illinois Bar Foundation, The Chicago Bar Foundation, and AmeriCorps.

In April 2019, Alfreda Baran (Will County, 12th Judicial Circuit) was awarded the Governor's Volunteer Service Award in the Northeast AmeriCorps category.  The award is presented annually by the Serve Illinois Commission on Volunteerism and Community Service, which is comprised of Governor-appointed Commissioners. The honor is bestowed upon volunteers representing five service regions in the state and aims to highlight the importance of volunteerism and community service in Illinois. 

In June 2019, Tameka Newman (McLean County, 11th Judicial Circuit) was featured on WGLT, an NPR member station, in theMore of That, Please series. The program highlights people serving and improving the Bloomington-Normal community through volunteerism.

In June 2019, John O'Neil (Kane County, 16th Judicial Circuit) received the 2019 Liberty Bell Award from the Kane County Bar Association. The nationally recognized award is given to a layperson or community organization who promotes a better understanding and respect for the law and court system, and who contributes to better government within the community.