Skip to Main Content

Details | State of Illinois Office of the Illinois Courts

Justice Mary K. O’Brien announces formation of judicial screening committee to fill Twelfth Circuit vacancy (Subcircuit 1)


Public invited to submit comments.

Justice Mary K. O'Brien of the Supreme Court of Illinois has announced the formation of a judicial screening committee for the Twelfth Judicial Circuit.

The screening committee was formed for the purpose of assessing the qualifications of those who have applied to fill the vacancy created by the retirement of Circuit Judge David Carlson, effective April 30, 2024. Under the Illinois Constitution, the vacancy will be filled by Supreme Court appointment.

After the committee has received public input, gathered information, and interviewed each of the applicants, it will report its findings to the Supreme Court of Illinois who will make the appointment.

The person appointed will serve as a Circuit Judge until the general election to be held in November 2026.

The screening committee consists of non-lawyers and lawyers who reside in the Twelfth Judicial Circuit. The non-lawyer members of the committee are Natalie Coleman and Therese Hopkins Skwarczynski. The lawyer members of the committee are Judge Paula Gomora (ret.) and Attorney Gerald Kielian (ret.).

Judge Gomora will serve as chairperson of the committee.

Applicants being considered for appointment to the judgeship are Eric J. Blatti, Amy B. Christiansen, Mona Elgindy, Michael R. Lucas, Michael H. Massino, Joseph R. Mazzone and Taylor Struckmeyer.

Members of the public are invited to submit written comments concerning the applicants by email to Comments must be in writing and received no later than 5 p.m. on May 15, 2024. Anonymous comments will not be accepted. All comments will be held in the strictest confidence by the committee and the court.