Skip to Main Content

Details | State of Illinois Office of the Illinois Courts

Illinois Supreme Court swears-in 300 new attorneys at bar admission ceremonies across the state


The bar admission ceremonies for the new attorneys who passed the February 2024 Bar Exam were held on Wednesday, May 8, in all five judicial districts of Illinois.

The First Judicial District ceremony sessions were held in Chicago at the Harris Theater with Supreme Court Chief Justice Mary Jane Theis, Justice P. Scott Neville, Jr. and Justice Joy V. Cunningham swearing-in candidates.

The Second Judicial District ceremony was held in Elgin with Justice Elizabeth M. Rochford swearing-in candidates.

The Third Judicial District ceremony was held in Ottawa with Justice Mary K. O’Brien swearing-in candidates.

The Fourth Judicial District ceremony was held in Springfield with Justice Lisa Holder White swearing-in candidates.

The Fifth Judicial District ceremony was held in Mt. Vernon with Justice David K. Overstreet swearing-in candidates.

Additional ceremony information can be found here.

“On behalf of my colleagues, I would like to congratulate the new admittees on passing the bar exam and becoming attorneys,” Chief Justice Theis said. “We welcome you to the legal profession and urge you to remember the oath you will be taking to support the Illinois and U.S. Constitutions and uphold the rule of law.”

All of the candidates sworn in have passed a bar examination and a required ethics examination and were certified by the Supreme Court Committee on Character and Fitness.

The number of admittees for each district is as follows:

  • First District: 236
  • Second District: 13
  • Third District: 23
  • Fourth District: 9
  • Fifth District: 19

The new attorneys sworn in at the bar admission ceremonies bring the total number of licensed attorneys in Illinois to approximately 97,000.