Skip to Main Content

Details | State of Illinois Office of the Illinois Courts

Lisa Holder White announces formation of screening committee to fill Fourteenth Circuit resident judge vacancy


Justice Lisa Holder White of the Supreme Court of Illinois has announced the formation of a judicial screening committee for the Fourteenth Judicial Circuit.

The screening committee was formed for the purpose of assessing the qualifications of those who have applied for appointment to the office of Resident Judge of the Circuit Court for the Fourteenth Judicial Circuit – Whiteside County. The upcoming retirement of Judge Stanley Steines, effective December 31, 2023, created the vacancy. Under the Illinois Constitution, the vacancy will be filled by Supreme Court appointment.

After the committee has received public input, gathered information, and interviewed the applicant, it will report its findings to the Supreme Court of Illinois who will make the appointment. The person appointed will serve as Resident Circuit Judge until the general election to be held in November 2024.

The screening committee consists of non-lawyers and lawyers who reside in the Fourteenth Judicial Circuit. The non-lawyer members of the committee are Tim Morgan, Mick Welding, Kurt Glazier, and Bill Wescott. The lawyer members of the committee are attorneys Tim Zollinger, Michelle Buckwalter-Schurman, and Allison Fagerman.

Mr. Bill Wescott will serve as chairperson of the committee.

The applicant being considered for appointment to the judgeship is attorney Gary Spencer.

Members of the public are invited to submit written comments concerning the applicants by U.S. mail to: Fourteenth Judicial Screening Committee, Rock Island County Courthouse, 1317 Third Avenue, Rock Island, IL 61201 or by email to Comments must be in writing and received no later than 5 p.m. on November 9, 2023. Anonymous letters will not be accepted. All comments will be held in the strictest confidence by the committee and the court.