Quick Links
Legal Community
E-Business Online Services
Citizen Self Help
Local Court Information:
spacer gif

Fourteenth Judicial Circuit

Henry | Mercer | Rock Island | Whiteside | 14th Circuit Court Judges |

Henry County FYI

Named for Patrick Henry, a lawyer, orator and statesman of the Revolutionary period, a member of the Continental Congress, and Governor of Virginia.
First County Commissioner's Court 1835.
First term of the County Commissioner's Court 1835.
First County and Circuit Clerk, James M. Allen.
First lawyer, Samuel P. Brainard.
First term of the Circuit Court, at Richmond, 1839.
First case in Circuit Court, Job Searls vs. Moses T. Stimpson.
First criminal indicted, John Porter.

Fourteenth Judicial Circuit (Third Appellate District)

Henry County

Cambridge, County Seat

Courthouse contact information:
Henry County Courthouse
307 West Center St.
Cambridge, IL 61238

Circuit Court Clerk information

Henry County website

Henry County Courthouse
Henry County Courthouse
Mercer County Courthouse
Mercer County Courthouse

Mercer County

Aledo, County Seat

Courthouse contact information:
Mercer County Courthouse
P.O. Box 66
Aledo, IL 61231

Circuit Court Clerk information

Mercer County website

Mercer County FYI

Named for Hugh Mercer, a General of the Revolution, killed at the battle of Princeton.

County Population: 16,957
County Houses: 7,109
Land area: 561.0 sq. mi.
Water area: 7.9 sq. mi.

Rock Island County FYI

Named from rock island of that name in the Mississippi.

Rock Island County prior to its organization was included in the jurisdiction of Jo Davies County. In 1833 the Legislature passed an act declaring that all the territory embraced within the current county boundaries be known by the name of Rock Island. In pursuance of the provisions of this act, due notice was given to the legal voters to meet at the house of John Barrell (the first courthouse), in Farnhamsburg, on Monday, the 5th day of July, 1833, to elect three County Commissioners, one Sheriff, one Coroner, three Justices of the Peace and three Constables. The following were voted into office that day.

Rock Island County

Rock Island, County Seat

Courthouse contact information:
Rock Island County Courthouse
1504 Third Avenue
Rock Island, IL 61201

Circuit Court Clerk information

Rock Island County website

Rock Island County Courthouse
Rock Island County Courthouse

Whiteside County Courthouse
Whiteside County Courthouse

Whiteside County

Morrison, County Seat

Courthouse contact information:
Whiteside County Courthouse
200 E. Knox Street
Morrison, IL 61270-2698

Circuit Court Clerk information

Whiteside County website

Whiteside County FYI

Named for Samuel Whiteside, a Colonel of the Territorial militia, Representative in the First General Assembly, and Brigadier General of the militia during the Black Hawk War.

On January 16, 1836, Whiteside County was formed with its current boundaries, but it continued to be attached to Jo Daviess County until December 1836 when it was attached to Ogle County. On May 6, 1839, the first Officers of Whiteside County were elected, and the county completed its organization thus terminating the connection with Ogle County.

14th Circuit Court Judges

Information on Chief Judges and their Administrative staff

Circuit Court Judges and Associate Judges

Return to top

Permission granted for usage of courthouse photos courtesy of:
Illinois Regional Archives Depository
Illinois State Archives
Springfield, IL 62756