Quick Links
Legal Community
E-Business Online Services
Citizen Self Help
Local Court Information:
spacer gif

Tenth Judicial Circuit

10th Judicial Circuit website

Marshall | Peoria | Putnam | Stark | Tazewell | 10th Circuit Court Judges |

Marshall County FYI

Named for John Marshall, chief justice of the United States Supreme Court from 1801 to 1835.  

The first settler in the future Marshall county was in 1824 Thomas Brooks

Marshall County was created from Putnam County on January 19, 1839. Lacon was chosen as the county seat. The first session of circuit court in the new county was held in the Lacon Methodist church, April 23, 1839.

Tenth Judicial Circuit (Third Appellate District)

Marshall County

Lacon, County Seat

Courthouse contact information:
Marshall County Courthouse
122 N. Prairie
Lacon, IL 61540

Circuit Court Clerk information

Marshall County website

Marshall County Courthouse
Marshall County Courthouse

Peoria County Courthouse
Peoria County Courthouse

Peoria County

Peoria, County Seat

Courthouse contact information:
Peoria County Courthouse
324 Main Street
Peoria, IL 61602

Circuit Court Clerk information

Peoria County Website

Peoria County FYI

Named for the Indian tribe called the Peorias, one of the tribes from the Illinois confederacy.

The county of Peoria was created on January 13, 1825. Peoria was incorporated as a town on July 18, 1835, and was incorporated as a city on April 21, 1845, when an election was held at the courthouse..

Putnam County FYI

Named for Israel Putnam [1718-1790] served in the French & Indian War and Pontiac's War.

Putnam County is the smallest county in the state of Illinois, encompassing only 166 square miles.

Putnam County's courthouse in Hennepin is the oldest courthouse currently in use in Illinois which has been maintained in an original form. The courthouse was built in 1839, the year Putnam County's present-day boundaries were established.

Putnam County

Hennepin, County Seat

Courthouse contact information:
Putnam County Courthouse
120 N. 4th Street
Hennepin, IL 61327

Circuit Court Clerk information

Putnam County Courthouse
Stark County Courthouse
Stark County Courthouse

Stark County

Toulon, County Seat

Courthouse contact information:
Stark County Courthouse
130 West Main Street
Toulon, IL 61483

Circuit Court Clerk information

Stark County FYI

John Stark [1728-1822] was a Lieutenant in the French & Indian War [1755]. He was a Colonel from New Hampshire during the American Revolution, serving at Bunker Hill in 1775. Stark commanded battles at Trenton and Princeton. By 1777, he was a Brigadier General, and served until the end of the war.

Tazewell County FYI

Lyttleton Waller Tazewell [1774-1860] was an eminent lawyer. He served in the Virginia house of delegates, and was a representative from Viriginia. Between 1824-32, the time when Tazewell County, Illinois, was named, he was a U.S. senator. In 1834, L.W. Tazewell became the 27th Governor of the Commonwealth of Virginia. It is, however, possible that it was named for Littleton's father, prominent Virginia politician Henry Tazewell, for whom Tazewell County, Virginia was named

Tazewell County was formed out of Peoria County in 1827.

Tazewell County

Pekin, County Seat

Courthouse contact information:
Tazewell County Courthouse
342 Court Street
Pekin, IL 61554

Circuit Court Clerk information

Tazewell County Website

Tazewell County Courthouse
Tazewell County Courthouse

10th Circuit Court Judges

Information on Chief Judges and their Administrative staff

Circuit Court Judges and Associate Judges

Return to top

Permission granted for usage of courthouse photos courtesy of:
Illinois Regional Archives Depository
Illinois State Archives
Springfield, IL 62756