Quick Links
Legal Community
E-Business Online Services
Citizen Self Help
Local Court Information:
spacer gif

Mathias W. Delort

Appellate Judge
Mathias W. Delort
First District, 6th Division

Justice Mathias W. Delort was born in Chicago. He earned his B.S. in Mathematics cum laude from DePaul University and his J.D. from the John Marshall Law School, where he was awarded the Dean's academic scholarship. He is currently an adjunct professor at John Marshall and has taught judges at education conferences sponsored by the Administrative Office of Illinois Courts.

He was appointed as an Associate Judge of the Circuit Court of Cook County in 2007 and served almost exclusively in the Chancery Division of that court. He is a member of the Illinois Supreme Court Mortgage Foreclosure Committee. He received the Chicago Volunteer Legal Services "Court of Honor" award in 2012 in recognition of his work as a trial court judge. He was elected to the appellate court in 2012.

Before becoming a judge, he was a partner and head of the Local Government Practice Group of Robbins, Schwartz, Nicholas, Lifton & Taylor, Ltd., specializing in local government and election law. In that role, he represented numerous Chicago-area municipalities and other governmental bodies for a period of over twenty years. He is the Editor-in-Chief of the Illinois Institute for Continuing Legal Educationís Election Law handbook and is the primary author of the Cook County Circuit Court Mortgage Foreclosure Bench Book.

As a practicing attorney, he earned the distinction of being named a "Super Lawyer" and "Leading Lawyer" in the field of Cities and Municipalities Law, and as a Local Government Fellow by the International Municipal Lawyers Association. He is the past chair of the Constitutional, Election and Local Government Law committees of the Chicago Bar Association and is a former member of its Board of Managers. Before being admitted to the bar, he worked on the professional staffs of both the Illinois House of Representatives and Cook County Board of Commissioners.