

## **Supreme Court of Illinois**

October 20, 2022

## JUSTICE LISA HOLDER WHITE ANNOUNCES FORMATION OF SCREENING COMMITTEE TO FILL TENTH CIRCUIT VACANCY

Public invited to submit comments on 3 applicants

Illinois Supreme Court Justice Lisa Holder White announced today the formation of a judicial screening committee for the Tenth Judicial Circuit.

The screening committee was formed for the purpose of assessing the qualifications of those persons who have applied for appointment to the office of Judge of the Circuit Court for the Tenth Judicial Circuit created by the upcoming retirement of Judge Michael D. Risinger on November 30, 2022. Under the Illinois Constitution, the vacancy will be filled by supreme court Appointment.

After the committee has received public input, gathered information, and interviewed each of the applicants, it will report its findings to the Illinois Supreme Court, which will make the appointment from among those applicants who have been screened by the committee. The person appointed will serve as a judge of the Circuit Court until the general election to be held in November 2024.

The screening committee consists of seven persons who reside in the Tenth Judicial Circuit. Four of the committee members are nonlawyers and three are lawyers.

The Nonlawyer Members of the Committee are Frank Abdnour, Dr. Michele Couri, and Jim Montelongo, all of Peoria, and Diane Cullinan Oberhelman of Edwards.

The lawyer members of the committee include Vincent Cail and Rex Linder of Peoria, and Judge Jerelyn Maher (ret.) of Tremont, who will serve as chairperson of the committee.

Applicants who are to be considered for appointment to the judgeship, and will be screened by the committee are Associate Judge Frank Ierulli, attorney Jason Ramos, and attorney Dale R. Thomas, Sr.

Members of the public are invited to submit comments concerning the applicants by writing to Judicial Screening Committee, c/o Gabe McLeod, 324 Main Street, Room 215, Peoria, IL, 61602. Mr. McLeod will forward the correspondence, unopened, to the Judicial Screening Committee.

Comments should be received by the committee before **noon on November 10, 2022**. All comments will be held in the strictest confidence by the committee and the court.

The Tenth Judicial Circuit encompasses five counties: Marshall, Peoria, Putnam, Stark, and Tazewell.

(FOR MORE INFORMATION, CONTACT: Chris Bonjean, Communications Director to the Illinois Supreme Court at 312.793.2323 or cbonjean@illinoiscourts.gov.)