

Supreme Court of Illinois

October 20, 2022

ILLINOIS SUPREME COURT ASSIGNS JUDGE AMY LANNERD AS FOURTH DISTRICT APPELLATE JUSTICE

Justice Lisa Holder White and the Supreme Court of Illinois have announced that Eighth Circuit Court Judge Amy Lannerd has been assigned as an Appellate Court Justice in the Fourth District.

Judge Lannerd is being assigned to fill the vacancy created by the decision of Justice John W. Turner to not seek retention. The assignment is effective December 5, 2022, through December 2, 2024.

"Judge Lannerd is a bright, hardworking community minded person who is highly respected by her colleagues and the legal community," Justice Holder White said. "She has extensive experience in the law and has handled a multitude of different types of cases since taking the bench in 2016. Undoubtedly, she will be an excellent addition to the Appellate Court."

Judge Lannerd was appointed to the bench as a Circuit Judge in the Eighth Circuit in 2016 and she won election in 2018. Prior to this she worked in private practice as a partner at Lewis, Longlett & Lannerd, LLC.

"I am humbled to receive this assignment," Judge Lannerd said. "I would like to express my sincere appreciation to Justice Holder White and the Illinois Supreme Court for granting me this opportunity. I am honored to be able to serve the citizens of the Fourth District Appellate Court."

Judge Lannerd is a member of the Illinois Supreme Court Pretrial Implementation Task Force Communications Subcommittee and has served a variety of roles in the 2020 and 2022 Educational Conferences, including as a presenter on the topics of Bankruptcy for Civil and Family Law Judges, Virtual Court Proceedings, and Strategies for Improving Court Performance.

Judge Lannerd earned her Bachelor of Science from the University of Arizona and her *Juris Doctor* from the University of Denver Law School.

The Fourth District Appellate Court is composed of 41 counties in central and western Illinois: Adams, Boone, Brown, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Ford, Fulton, Greene, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Jersey, Jo Daviess, Knox, Lee, Livingston, Logan, Macoupin, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McLean, Menard, Mercer, Morgan, Ogle, Peoria, Pike, Putnam, Rock Island, Sangamon, Schuyler, Scott, Stark, Stephenson, Tazewell, Warren, Whiteside, Winnebago and Woodford.

(FOR MORE INFORMATION, CONTACT: Chris Bonjean, Communications Director to the Illinois Supreme Court at 312.793.2323 or cbonjean@illinoiscourts.gov.)