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PRESIDING JUSTICE REYES delivered the judgment of the court.
Justices Lampkin and Rochford concurred in the judgment.
ORDER
11 Held: Reversing judgment of the circuit court of Cook County dismissing with prejudice
lienholder’s first amended complaint against towing company for replevin and
conversion of vehicle towed from site of collision at direction of police.
2 Ally Financial Inc. (Ally) appeals from an order of the circuit court of Cook County
dismissing with prejudice its first amended complaint against Hillside Auto Body & Service, Inc.

(Hillside) pursuant to section 2-619 of the Code of Civil Procedure (Code) (735 ILCS 5/2-619

(West 2016)). As discussed below, we reverse and remand for further proceedings.
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13 BACKGROUND

4  Ally provided lease financing to Lori Figueroa (Figueroa) for a 2014 Cadillac SRX
(vehicle) in the fall of 2014, and was the first lienholder on the vehicle. On September 8, 2016,
the vehicle was rendered undriveable as the result of a collision in Mount Prospect, Illinois. The
Mount Prospect Police Department (police department) directed Hillside, its emergency towing
provider, to tow the vehicle from the accident scene to Hillside’s storage facility.

15 The police department sent separate letters to Figueroa and Ally by certified mail on
October 19, 2016. The letters provided that after the expiration date of a 10-day period — listed
as October 31, 2016 — the “unclaimed” vehicle would be “junked” in accordance with specified
provisions of the Illinois Vehicle Code (Vehicle Code) (625 ILCS 5/4-208 through 5/4-211).
Ally was informed it could claim the vehicle by: (1) presenting proof of ownership to the police
department vehicle processing officer and requesting a release of the vehicle; and (2) presenting
the release to Hillside prior to the expiration date. The letter stated that Ally was responsible for
all towing and storage charges.

16 The police department sent a second letter to Ally, and a separate letter to Figueroa, by
certified mail on October 31, 2016. The letter was identical to the earlier letter, except that the
expiration date was listed as November 11, 2016.

17  Ally apparently did not request, receive, or present any release with respect to the
vehicle. Hillside subsequently purchased the vehicle at a public sale on November 14, 2016.
The certificate of purchase, signed by the vehicle processing officer, provides that the sale was
“free and clear of any and all liens.”

18 On January 3, 2017, Ally filed a complaint in the circuit court of Cook County against

Hillside seeking an order of replevin. After the circuit court dismissed the complaint without
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prejudice, Ally filed a two-count first amended complaint for replevin and conversion. Ally in
its amended complaint acknowledged receiving correspondence from the police department on
or about October 24, 2016, which indicated that Hillside was the towing and storage facility and
that the vehicle would be held until October 31, 2016, and then “junked” in accordance with the
Vehicle Code. However, Ally alleged that any lien held by Hillside was capped at $2000
pursuant to the Labor and Storage Lien (Small Amount) Act (625 ILCS 5/4-203 (West 2016);
770 ILCS 50/1 (West 2016)). According to the amended complaint, Hillside rejected Ally’s
$2000 offer and refused to return the vehicle unless additional fees were paid.! As relief, Ally
sought possession of the vehicle, or alternatively, a judgment in the amount of $19,350, the retail
value of the vehicle at the time of the sale to Hillside.

19 Hillside filed a motion to dismiss the first amended complaint pursuant to section 2-
619(a)(9) of the Code. Hillside included the affidavit of its vice president, Mark Balek (Balek),
in support of the motion. Balek averred that Hillside was contacted after the September 8, 2016,
collision by Figueroa, who was uninsured with respect to the vehicle damage. Hillside explained
that towing and accruing storage fees were owed. Although Hillside prepared a requested
estimate of the repair costs, Figueroa never again contacted Hillside.

110 Balek further averred that on or about November 2, 2016, Nelson Mitten (Mitten)
contacted Hillside on behalf of Ally.> Mitten inquired regarding the condition of the vehicle and
stated that he did not know whether Ally wished to pick up the vehicle. After faxing a copy of
an invoice for towing and storage fees and an estimate for repairs to Mitten, Balek did not hear
from him again. Balek stated that Hillside had no record that Ally provided any proof of

ownership of the vehicle or otherwise contacted Hillside.

! The complaint does not specify the total fees charged by Hillside, but the appellate briefs
suggest that the amount was approximately $7000.
2 Mitten is an attorney representing Ally.
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111  When Hillside received the certificate of purchase on or about November 14, 2016, the
police department also provided Hillside copies of the title search, notification letters to Figueroa
and Ally, and certified mail receipts demonstrating delivery to Figueroa and Ally. Balek averred
that Hillside had not previously received the title search or notification letters.

12 Inits motion to dismiss, Hillside argued that the vehicle had been properly towed and
stored by Hillside and properly processed and sold to Hillside and therefore, under the Vehicle
Code, Hillside’s title was free and clear of Ally’s security interest, pursuant to section 4-212 of
the Vehicle Code (625 ILCS 5/4-212 (West 2016)). Furthermore, Hillside contended that it
could not be held liable to the owner or lienholder of a vehicle that was processed as unclaimed
in accordance with section 4-213(a) of the Vehicle Code (625 ILCS 5/4-213(a) (West 2016)).
Hillside also contended that Ally failed to reclaim the vehicle in accordance with the Vehicle
Code or to otherwise demand possession and no longer held any legal interest in the vehicle.
Ally responded that the notices from the police department were invalid because they did not
strictly comply with the Vehicle Code and that Ally’s lien was superior to any claim of Hillside
with respect to the vehicle.

13 Inan order entered on September 26, 2017, the circuit court dismissed the first amended
complaint with prejudice. Ally timely filed the instant appeal.

114 ANALYSIS

115 Ally asserted claims of replevin and conversion in its first amended complaint. Section
19-101 of the Code provides that “[w]henever any goods or chattels have been wrongfully
distrained, or otherwise wrongfully taken or are wrongfully detained, an action of replevin may
be brought for the recovery of such goods or chattels, by the owner or person entitled to their

possession.” 735 ILCS 5/19-101 (West 2016). To establish a claim for conversion, a party must
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prove: “(1) a right in the property; (2) the right to immediate, absolute, and unconditional
possession of the property; (3) defendant’s unauthorized and wrongful assumption of control,
dominion, or ownership over the property; and (4) a demand for possession.” Stathis v.
Geldermann, Inc., 295 Ill. App. 3d 844, 856 (1998).

116 Hillside filed a motion to dismiss the first amended complaint under section 2-619(a)(9)
of the Code. 735 ILCS 5/2-619(a)(9) (West 2016). Dismissal pursuant to section 2-619(a)(9) is
appropriate when an affirmative matter bars or defeats the plaintiff’s claim. Smith v. Waukegan
Park District, 231 1ll. 2d 111, 120 (2008). An “affirmative matter” means “some kind of defense
‘other than a negation of the essential allegations of the plaintiff’s cause of action.” ” Id. at 120-
21, quoting Kedzie & 103rd Currency Exchange, Inc. v. Hodge, 156 Ill. 2d 112, 115 (1993).
17 *“Onamotion to dismiss pursuant to section 2-619(a)(9) of the Code, the defendant, as
the movant, ‘has the burden of proof on the motion, and the concomitant burden of going
forward.” ” Philadelphia Indemnity Insurance Co. v. Pace Suburban Bus Service, 2016 IL App
(1st) 151659, | 22, citing 4 Richard A. Michael, Illinois Practice § 41:8, at 481 (2d ed. 2011).
When a motion to dismiss is based on facts not apparent from the face of the complaint, the
movant must support its motion with affidavits or other evidence. Philadelphia Indemnity, 2016
IL App (1st) 151659, 1 22. If the defendant can carry this burden of going forward, the burden
then shifts to the plaintiff, who must establish that the affirmative defense asserted is either
unfounded or requires the resolution of an essential element of material fact before it is proven.
Id. The plaintiff may establish this by presenting “affidavits or other proof.” Id.; 735 ILCS 5/2-
619(c) (West 2016). “The plaintiff’s failure to properly contest the defendant’s affidavit by
submitting a counteraffidavit may be fatal to his cause of action, as the failure to challenge or

contradict supporting affidavits filed with a section 2-619 motion results in an admission of the
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fact stated therein.” Philadelphia Indemnity, 2016 IL App (1st) 151659, { 22.

118 Insum, a proper section 2-619 motion admits that the complaint states a cause of action
and its allegations are true, but “argues that some other defense exists that defeats the claim
nevertheless.” Doe v. University of Chicago Medical Center, 2015 IL App (1st) 133735, { 40.
When a court rules on a section 2-619 motion to dismiss, it must interpret the pleadings and
supporting documents in the light most favorable to the nonmoving party. Van Meter v. Darien
Park District, 207 Ill. 2d 359, 367-68 (2003). We review a dismissal pursuant to section 2-
619(a)(9) de novo. Smith, 231 Ill. 2d at 115.

119 Hillside’s primary contention in its motion to dismiss was that its purchase of the vehicle
from the police department pursuant to a procedure set forth in the VVehicle Code regarding
unclaimed vehicles insulated Hillside from liability to Ally. Hillside supported the motion with,
among other things, the Balek affidavit. Balek averred, in part, that the police department, not
Hillside, handled the processing of the vehicle. The affidavit does not establish, however, that
the notifications transmitted by the police department were, in fact, proper. Furthermore, as
discussed below, the certified mail receipts appended to the affidavit indicate that the
notifications did not comply with the Vehicle Code. See Reynolds v. Jimmy John’s Enterprises,
LLC, 2013 IL App (4th) 120139, { 42 (concluding that the defendant’s motion pursuant to
section 2-619(a)(9) did not properly assert an affirmative matter).

120 Although it did not file a counteraffidavit in response to the facts stated in the Balek
affidavit, Ally argued in its response to the motion to dismiss that the failure to comply with the
legal requirements of the Vehicle Code rendered the sale of the vehicle invalid. For the reasons
discussed below, we conclude that the failure to comply with the VVehicle Code requirements

precludes dismissal of the first amended complaint pursuant to section 2-619(a)(9).
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121  Section 4-205 of the Vehicle Code provides that when a law enforcement agency
authorizing the impounding of a vehicle does not know the identity of the registered owner or
lienholder, the agency is required to have a search conducted of the Illinois vehicle registration
records. 625 ILCS 5/4-205(a) (West 2016). The law enforcement agency is then required to
send a notification by certified mail to the “registered owner, lienholder and other legally entitled
person” with specified information, including the location of the vehicle. 625 ILCS 5/4-205(b)
(West 2016).
122  Section 4-205(b) provides, in part:

“Notification shall be sent no later than 10 business days after the date the law

enforcement agency impounds or authorizes the impounding of a vehicle,

provided that if the law enforcement agency is unable to determine the identity of

the registered owner, lienholder or other person legally entitled to ownership of

the impounded vehicle within a 10 business day period after impoundment, then

notification shall be sent no later than 2 days after ownership of the impounded

vehicle is determined.” 625 ILCS 5/4-205(b) (West 2016).
The initial notification from the police department to Ally was sent by certified mail on
October 19, 2016, approximately 30 business days after the vehicle was impounded. There is no
indication in the record that the standard “10 business day” period for sending the notification
was expanded due to the inability of the police department to determine Ally’s identity.
123  Section 4-208(b) of the Vehicle Code provides, in part, that when an “unclaimed vehicle
7 years of age or newer remains unclaimed by the registered owner, lienholder or other legally
entitled person for a period of 30 days after notice has been given as provided in Sections 4-205

and 4-206 of this Code, the law enforcement agency or towing service having possession of the
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vehicle shall cause it to be sold at public auction to a [specified automotive parts recycler,
rebuilder or scrap processor] or the towing operator which towed the vehicle.” 625 ILCS 5/4-
208(b) (West 2016). In the instant case, however, the certificate of purchase was dated
November 14, 2016 — less than the required 30-day period under section 4-208(b).

124  Section 4-208(b) further provides that at least 10 days prior to the sale, “the law
enforcement agency where the vehicle is impounded, or the towing service where the vehicle is
impounded, shall cause a notice of the time and place of the sale to be sent by certified mail to
the registered owner, lienholder, or other legally entitled persons.” 1d. The notices sent to Ally,
however, did not state the time and place of sale, as required by section 4-208(b).

125 Hillside contends that, irrespective of any failure to strictly comply with the foregoing
notification requirements, Ally did not timely reclaim the vehicle by taking the steps described in
the notification letters. Section 4-207 provides that at “[a]ny time before a vehicle is sold at
public sale or disposed of as provided in Section 4-208, the owner, lienholder or any other person
legally entitled to its possession may reclaim the vehicle by presenting to the law enforcement
agency having custody of the vehicle proof of ownership or proof of the right to possession of
the vehicle.” 625 ILCS 5/4-207(a) (West 2016). Section 4-204(d) provides that “[u]pon delivery
of a written release order to the towing service, a vehicle subject to a hold order shall be released
to the owner, operator, or other legally entitled person upon proof of ownership or other
entitlement and upon payment of the applicable removal, towing, storage, and processing
charges and collection costs.” 625 ILCS 5/4-204(d) (West 2016). Ally apparently did not
present proof of ownership or a right to possession to the police department, or deliver a written
release order to Hillside.

126 While Hillside’s observations regarding Ally’s failure to reclaim the vehicle may be true,
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Hillside did not establish that the notification procedures set forth in the Vehicle Code pertaining
to unclaimed property were strictly followed. Van Meter, 207 Ill. 2d at 367-68 (noting that a
court must interpret the pleadings and supporting documents in the light most favorable to the
nonmoving party when ruling on a section 2-619 motion to dismiss). As discussed above, the
timing and content of the notices transmitted by the police department did not meet the
requirements of the Vehicle Code. Furthermore, to the extent that the initial notification was
sent approximately 20 business days later than required by the Vehicle Code, Ally would
potentially be liable for significantly higher accrued storage fees than it would otherwise owe,
given that the release of the vehicle would be contingent upon payment of the fees. E.g., 625
ILCS 5/4-207(b) (West 2016) (providing that “[n]o vehicle shall be released to the owner,
lienholder, or other person under this Section until all towing, storage, and processing charges
have been paid”). See also 625 ILCS 5/4-203(g)(2) (West 2016) (providing that “[w]hen a
vehicle removal from either public or private property is authorized by a law enforcement
agency, the owner of the vehicle shall be responsible for all towing and storage charges”).

127 Hillside further contends that dismissal was proper because under the Vehicle Code its
purchase of the vehicle was “free and clear” of liens, as stated on the certificate of purchase.
Hillside also argues that the dismissal was proper because section 4-213 of the Vehicle Code
provides, in part, that a towing service shall not be liable for damages in any action brought by a
lienholder “when the vehicle was processed and sold or disposed of as provided by this Chapter.”
625 ILCS 5/4-213 (West 2016). However, Hillside’s defenses to the action are dependent on
compliance with the Vehicle Code. For the reasons discussed above, Hillside did not establish as
a matter of law that the vehicle was sold “as provided by this Chapter.” (Emphasis added.) 1d.

See also Bell Leasing Brokerage, LLC v. Roger Auto Service, Inc., 372 Ill. App. 3d 461, 472
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(2007) (rejecting towing company’s contention that it was immune from liability based on its
non-compliance with the provisions of the Vehicle Code). Although we understand Hillside’s
concern regarding its potential liability for the procedural missteps of another entity, i.e., the
police department, we cannot affirm the dismissal on these grounds.

128 Furthermore, we do not consider herein Hillside’s contention that no “demand” was made
— for purposes of Ally’s claims of replevin and conversion — because Hillside implicitly admitted
that the first amended complaint stated such causes of action as part of its section 2-619(a)(9)
motion. See Doe, 2015 IL App (1st) 133735, 140. We solely conclude that dismissal of the first
amended complaint pursuant to section 2-619(a)(9) was improper.

129  Although we have reversed the dismissal, Hillside may raise any of the foregoing
defenses and any additional defenses in its answer. See 735 ILCS 5/2-619(d) (West 2016)
(providing that “[t]he raising of any of the foregoing matters by motion under this Section does
not preclude the raising of them subsequently by answer unless the court has disposed of the
motion on its merits; and a failure to raise any of them by motion does not preclude raising them
by answer”).

130 For the first time on appeal, Ally argues that the Labor and Storage Lien Act (770 ILCS
45/1, et seq.) and the Labor and Storage Lien (Small Amount) Act (770 ILCS 50/1, et seq.)
imposed certain notification requirements on Hillside. We note that arguments may not be raised
for the first time on appeal. E.g., Navistar Financial Corp. v. Allen’s Corner Garage & Towing
Service, Inc., 153 Ill. App. 3d 574, 579 (1987) (argument regarding statutory lien was considered
waived when it was not argued before the trial court). Furthermore, as expressly acknowledged
by Ally in its complaint, there is no indication that Hillside claimed a lien with respect to the

vehicle. We recognize that amendments to the foregoing lien statutes, effective as of November

10
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22,2017, would now require Hillside to provide specified notice to Ally prior to the assessment
and accrual of storage fees, irrespective of whether Hillside sought to enforce a lien. Pub. Act
100-311, 8§ 10 (eff. Nov. 22, 2017) (amending 770 ILCS 45/1.5 (West 2016)) (requiring a private
corporation seeking to impose fees in connection with the furnishing of storage for a vehicle in
the corporation’s possession to provide written notice by certified mail to the lienholder of record
prior to the assessment and accrual of such fees, “regardless of whether it enforces a lien under
this Act” (emphasis added)); Pub. Act 100-311, § 15 (eff. Nov. 22, 2017) (amending 770 ILCS
50/1.5 (West 2016) (same). Such requirement, however, was not yet in effect during the events
at issue in this case, and thus the revised statute does not affect our analysis herein.

131 CONCLUSION

132 The judgment of the circuit court of Cook County dismissing Ally’s first amended
complaint with prejudice is hereby reversed, and the matter is remanded to the circuit court for
further proceedings consistent with this order.

133 Reversed; remanded.
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