Skip to Main Content
Illinois Courts Response to COVID-19

Details | State of Illinois Office of the Illinois Courts

Justice partnerships are a requirement of the CCBHC Model


What are Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinics (CCBHCs)

The Excellence in Mental Health and Addiction Act demonstration established a federal definition and criteria for Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinics (CCBHCs). CCBHCs are designed to provide a comprehensive range of mental health and substance use disorder services to vulnerable individuals. In return, CCBHCs receive an enhanced Medicaid reimbursement rate based on their anticipated costs of expanding services to meet the needs of these complex populations. They must directly provide (or contract with partner organizations to provide) comprehensive care, with an emphasis on 24-hour crisis care, evidence-based practices, care coordination with local primary care and hospital partners, and integration with physical health care.

CCBHCS and the Sequential Intercept Model

CCBHCs are well-positioned to provide support to law enforcement, jails, courts, and other justice system partners at each stage of the Sequential Intercept Model (SIM).

Learn more here: National Judicial Task Force to Examine State Courts’ Response to Mental Illness - 2021

CCBHCs in Illinois

To date, the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) has provided grant funding for the establishment of CCBHCs. The Illinois Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinics (CCBHCs) Act (Senate Bill 2294/Public Act 102-0043) requires, the Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services establish a program for the implementation of CCBHCs in the state.

CCBHCs in Illinois Circuit Court Boundaries*

If you haven’t established a relationship with the CCBHC within your circuit, please reach out to the AOIC’s Statewide Behavioral Health Administrator, Scott Block for assistance:

Circuit Court of Cook County

  • Ecker Center
  • Human Resources Development Institute
  • Lutheran Social Services

1st Circuit

  • Arrowleaf
  • Egyptian Health Department

2nd Circuit

  • County of Lawrence Health Department

4th Circuit

  • Community Resource Center, Inc.

6th Circuit

  • Heritage Behavioral Health Center
  • Rosecrance Health Network

10th Circuit

  • UnityPoint Health

11th Circuit

  • Chestnut Health Systems

14th Circuit

  • UnityPoint Health
  • Sinnissippi Centers (Dixon)

15th Circuit

  • Centerstone

16th Circuit

  • Ecker Center

17th Circuit

  • Rosecrance Health Network

20th Circuit

  • Chestnut Health Systems
  • Comwell

22nd Circuit

  • Thresholds

*This list is evolving and may not reflect all developing CCBHCs in Illinois.