
M.R. 3140 

IN THE

SUPREME COURT

OF

THE STATE OF ILLINOIS

Order entered June 3, 2010.

(Deleted material is struck through and new material is underscored.)

Effective September 15, 2010, Supreme Court Rules 526, 527, 528,
and  530 are amended, as follows.

Amended Rule 526

Rule 526. Bail Schedule–Traffic Offenses

(a) Bail in Minor Traffic Offenses. Unless released on a written
promise to comply and except as provided in paragraphs (b), (c), (d)
and (f) of this rule a person arrested for a traffic offense and
personally served by the arresting officer with a Citation and
Complaint shall post bail in the amount of $75120 in one of the
following ways: (1) by depositing, in lieu of such amount, his current
Illinois driver’s license posting $120 cash bail (see Rule 501(b) for
definition of “Cash Bail”); or (2) by depositing, in lieu of such amount,
an approved bond certificate; or (3) by posting $75 cash bail (see Rule
501(b) for definition of “Cash Bail”) depositing, in lieu of such
amount, a current Illinois driver’s license.

(b) Bail in Certain Truck Offenses.

(1) Persons charged with a violation of section 15–111 of the
Illinois Vehicle Code, as amended (truck overweight) (625 ILCS
5/15–111), charged with a violation of section 15–112(f e) of the
Illinois Vehicle Code, as amended (gross weight) (625 ILCS
5/15–112(fe)), or charged with a violation punishable by fine
pursuant to sections 15–113.1, 15–113.2 or 15–113.3 of the
Illinois Vehicle Code, as amended (permit moves) (625 ILCS
5/15–113.1 et seq.), shall post cash bail in an amount equal to the
amount of the minimum fine fixed by statute, plus penalties and
costs (see Rule 501(b) for definition of “Cash Bail”). The accused
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may, in lieu of cash bail, deposit a money order issued by a money
transfer service company which has been approved by the
Administrative Director under regulations issued by this court.
The money order shall be made payable to the clerk of the circuit
court of the county in which the violation occurred. When the bail
for any offense hereunder does not exceed $300500, the accused
may, at his option, deposit a truck bond certificate in lieu of bail.

(2) Persons charged with violating section 15–112(g) of the
Illinois Vehicle Code, as amended, by refusing to stop and submit
a vehicle and load to weighing after being directed to do so by an
officer, or with violating section 15–112(g) by removing all or
part of the load prior to weighing shall post bail in the amount of
$7501,200 (625 ILCS 5/15–112(g)).

(c) Bail in Other Traffic Offenses (Rules of the Road). Except
as provided in paragraph (e) of this rule, persons charged with
violations of the following sections of the Illinois Vehicle Code shall
post bail in the amount specified:

ILCS Description Bail

(1) 625 ILCS 5/11–601 Speeding, but only when

more than 20 mph over the

posted limit but not more

than 30 mph over the 

posted limit $95140

Speeding, but only when

 more than 30 mph over the

 posted limit $105160

(2) 625 ILCS 5/11–601.5 Speeding, but only when

40 mph or more over the

posted limit  $2,000

(3) 625 ILCS 5/11–204 Fleeing or Attempting to

Elude Police Officer  $2,000

(4) 625 ILCS 5/11–401(a) Leaving Scene of Accident–

Death or Injury  $2,000
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(5) 625 ILCS 5/11–501 Misdemeanor Driving Under 

Influence of Alcohol or

Drugs or with 0.08 or more

Blood- or Breath-Alcohol

Concentration  $3,000

(6) 625 ILCS 5/11–503 Reckless Driving  $2,000

(7) 625 ILCS 5/11–504 Drag Racing  $2,000

(7) 625 ILCS 5/11–506 Street Racing  $2,000

(8) 625 ILCS 5/12–603.1 Use of Safety Belts,

Driver or Passenger   $5560

(d)  Bail in Other Traffic Offenses (Vehicle Title &
Registration Law). Except as provided in paragraph (e) of this rule,
persons charged with violations of the following sections of the
Illinois Vehicle Code shall post bail in the amount specified:

 

ILCS Description  Bail

(1) 625 ILCS 5/3–707 Operating Without Insurance  $2,000

(2) 625 ILCS 5/3–708 Operating when Registra-

tion Suspended for Non-

insurance   $3,000

(3) 625 ILCS 5/3–710 Display of False Insurance

Card  $2,000

(e) Driver’s License or Bond Certificate in Lieu of or in
Addition to Bail. An accused who has a valid Illinois driver’s license
may deposit his driver’s license in lieu of the bail specified in
subparagraphs (1), (2), (3), (6), and (8) of Rule 526(c) and
subparagraphs (1) and (3) of Rule 526(d). In lieu of posting the cash
amount specified in subparagraphs (4), (5) and (7) of Rule 526(c) or
subparagraph (2) of Rule 526(d), an accused must post $1,000 bail
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and his current Illinois driver’s license. Persons who do not possess a
valid Illinois driver’s license shall post bail in the amounts specified in
Rule 526(c) or 526(d), except that an accused may deposit an
approved bond certificate in lieu of the bail specified in subparagraphs
(1) or (8) of Rule 526(c).

(f) Bail in Other Traffic Offenses (Driver Licensing Law).
Persons charged with violations of the following sections of the
Illinois Vehicle Code shall post bail in the amount specified:

ILCS Description Bail

(1) 625 ILCS 5/6–301 Unlawful Use of License $7501,500

(2) 625 ILCS 5/6–303 Misdemeanor Driving With 

or 6–310 Suspended or Revoked 

License $1,0001,500

(3) 625 ILCS 5/6–304.1 Permitting Driving Under
Influence of Alcohol or Drugs  $1,0001,500

(4) 625 ILCS 5/6–101 Unlicensed Driving, under
the following circumstances:

(a) All cases other than 
See article VI, those charging license expired

“Penalties,” for less than one year $1,0001,500
Illinois Vehicle Code (b) License expired less than 

(625 ILCS 5/6–601) one year (see Rule 526(a)) 

(5) 625 ILCS 5/6–507 Commercial Driver’s License   $1,0001,500

(g) Bail for Traffic Offenses Defined by Ordinance. Bail for
traffic offenses defined by any ordinances of any unit of local
government which are similar to those described in this Rule 526 shall
be the same amounts as provided for in this rule.

Amended effective October 7, 1970; amended January 31, 1972,
effective March 1, 1972; amended February 17, 1977, effective April 1,
1977, in counties other than Cook, effective July 1, 1977, in Cook

County; amended September 29, 1978, effective November 1, 1978;
amended September 20, 1979, effective October 15, 1979; amended
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December 22, 1981, effective January 15, 1982; amended April 27,
1984, effective July 1, 1984; amended March 27, 1985, effective May
1, 1985; amended June 26, 1987, effective August 1, 1987; amended
June 19, 1989, effective August 1, 1989; amended January 11, 1990,
effective immediately; amended December 7, 1990, effective January 1,
1991; amended June 12, 1992, effective July 1, 1992; amended
September 27, 1993, effective October 1, 1993 ; amended April 11,
2000, effective immediately; amended September 30, 2002, effective
immediately; amended December 5, 2003, effective immediately;
amended May 30, 2008, effective immediately; amended June 11, 2009,
effective immediately; amended June 3, 2010, effective September 15,
2010.

Amended Rule 527

Rule 527. Bail Schedule–Conservation Offenses

(a) General. Except as provided in paragraphs (b), (c), (d), (e),
(f), and (g) and (h) of this Rule 527, a person arrested for a
conservation offense and personally served by the arresting officer
with a conservation complaint shall post cash bail in the amount of
$75120 (see Rule 501(b) for definition of “Cash Bail”). 

(b) Bail for Specified Violations of the Wildlife Code. Persons
arrested for a conservation offense listed below and personally served
by the arresting officer with a conservation complaint shall post bail
in the amount specified:

WILDLIFE CODE

  

ILCS Description Bail

520 ILCS 5/1.22 Resistance to Officers  $1,000

520 ILCS 5/2.4 Unlawful Taking or Pos-

session of Birds of Prey  $1,000

520 ILCS 5/2.9 Unlawful Taking or Pos-

session of Wild Turkeys

out of Season $1,0001,500
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520 ILCS 5/2.16 Unlawful Sale or Barter

of Game Birds $1,0001,500

520 ILCS 5/2.18 Unlawful Taking of Migra-

tory Game Birds $1,0001,500

520 ILCS 5/2.24 Unlawful Taking or Pos-

sessing of Deer out of

Season $1,0001,500

520 ILCS 5/2.25 Unlawful Taking or Pos-

sessing of Deer out of

Season $1,0001,500

520 ILCS 5/2.29 Unlawful Sale or Barter

of Game Animals $1,0001,500

520 ILCS 5/2.30 Unlawful Taking of Fur-

bearing Mammals $1,0001,500

520 ILCS 5/2.33(i) Unlawful Taking from

Vehicle  $1,000

520 ILCS 5/2.33(cc) Possession of Species Dur-

ing Closed Season  $1,000

520 ILCS 5/2.33a(k) Possession of Green 

Hides     $1,0001,500

520 ILCS 5/2.36 Unlawful Sale and Com-

mercial Possession of

Wildlife  $1,000

520 ILCS 5/2.38 Falsification or Mis-

representation  $1,000
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520 ILCS 5/3.34 Exotic Game Hunting Area  $1,500

520 ILCS 5/3.36 Violations While Under

Revocation  $1,000

(c) Bail for Specified Violations of the Boat Registration and
Safety Act. Persons arrested for a conservation offense listed below
and personally served by the arresting officer with a conservation
complaint shall post bail in the amount specified:

BOAT REGISTRATION AND SAFETY ACT

ILCS Description Bail

625 ILCS 45/2–4 Resistance to Officers  $1,000

625 ILCS 45/5–1 Careless Operation of

Motorboat     $1,0001,500

625 ILCS 45/5–2 Reckless Operation of

Motorboat $1,000

625 ILCS 45/5–16(A) Operating Motorboat

Under the Influence of

Liquors or Drugs  $2,000

625 ILCS 45/5–22 Failure to Yield to 

Emergency Watercraft  $1,500

625 ILCS 45/11A–5 Operating Motorboat

During Suspension of

Privilege  $1,000

(d) Bail for Specified Violations of the Snowmobile
Registration and Safety Act. Persons arrested for a conservation
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offense listed below and personally served by the arresting officer with
a conservation complaint shall post bail in the amount specified:

SNOWMOBILE REGISTRATION AND

SAFETY ACT

ILCS Description Bail

625 ILCS 40/2–4 Resistance to Officers  $1,000

625 ILCS 40/3–10 Falsification or Altera-

tion $1,0001,500

625 ILCS 40/5–1(B) Reckless, Negligent 

or Careless Operation of

Snowmobile $1,0001,500

625 ILCS 40/5–7(a) Operating Snowmobile

Under the Influence of

Liquor or Drugs  $2,000

(e) Bail for Specified Violations of the Fish and Aquatic Life
Code. Persons arrested for a conservation offense listed below and
personally served by the arresting officer with a conservation
complaint shall post bail in the amount specified:

 FISH AND AQUATIC LIFE CODE

ILCS Description  Bail

515 ILCS 5/1–200 Obstructing an Officer  $1,000

515 ILCS 5/10–80 Illegal Methods of

Taking Aquatic Life  $1,000

515 ILCS 5/10–100(b) Release of Injurious Species  $1,000
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515 ILCS 5/10–140 Dip Net Without 

Commercial License $1,500

515 ILCS 5/15–5 Failure to Have Re-

quired Commercial

Fishing License $1,0001,500

515 ILCS 5/15–10 Failure to Have Re-

quired Commercial

Musselor License $1,0001,500

515 ILCS 5/15–50 Unlawful Sale and

Commercial Possession  $1,000

515 ILCS 5/20–90 Aquaculture Permit $1,500

515 ILCS 5/20–105 Violations While Under

Revocation  $1,000

515 ILCS 5/20–120(h) Falsification or

Misrepresentation  $1,000

(f) Bail for Specified Violations of the Endangered Species
Protection Act. Persons arrested for a conservation offense listed
below and personally served by the arresting officer with a
conservation complaint shall post bail in the amount specified:

ENDANGERED SPECIES PROTECTION ACT

ILCS Description Bail

520 ILCS 10/3 Unlawful Possession, 

Taking, Sale, or Disposition of 

Endangered Species $1,000
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 (g f) Bail for Specified Violations of the Forest Products
Transportation Act. Persons arrested for a conservation offense
listed below and personally served by the arresting officer with a
conservation complaint shall post bail in the amount specified:

FOREST PRODUCTS TRANSPORTATION ACT

ILCS Description Bail

225 ILCS 740/4 Cutting or Damaging

Forest Products Without

Consent  $1,000

225 ILCS 740/5 Transportation of Forest

Products Without Consent $1,0001,500

 (h) Bail for Specified Violations of the Timber Buyers
Licensing Act. Persons arrested for a conservation offense listed
below and personally served by the arresting officer with a
conservation complaint shall post bail in the amount specified:

TIMBER BUYERS LICENSING ACT

ILCS Description Bail

225 ILCS 735/3 Engaging in Business

Without License  $1,000

225 ILCS 735/5 Unlawful Activities  $1,000

(g) Bail for Class A Misdemeanors. Persons arrested for any
conservation offense classified as a Class A misdemeanor and
personally served by the arresting officer with a conservation
complaint shall post bail in the amount of $1,500, except as may be
provided in paragraphs (b), (c), (d), (e), and (f).

Amended effective October 7, 1970; amended January 31, 1972,



-11-

effective March 1, 1972; amended February 17, 1977, effective April 1,
1977, in counties other than Cook, effective July 1, 1977, in Cook
County; amended December 22, 1981, effective January 15, 1982;
amended April 27, 1984, effective July 1, 1984; amended March 27,
1985, effective May 1, 1985; amended June 26, 1987, effective August
1, 1987; amended June 19, 1989, effective August 1, 1989; amended
June 12, 1992, effective July 1, 1992; amended September 30, 2002,
effective immediately; amended December 6, 2006, effective
immediately; amended June 11, 2009, effective immediately; amended
June 3, 2010, effective September 15, 2010.

Rule 528. Bail Schedule–Ordinance Offenses, Petty Offenses,
Business Offenses and Certain Misdemeanors

(a) Offenses Punishable by Fine Not to Exceed $1,000. Bail for
offenses (other than traffic or conservation offenses), including
ordinance violations, punishable only by a fine which does not exceed
$1,000 shall be $75120.

(b) Offenses Punishable by Fine in Excess of $1,000. Bail for
offenses (other than traffic or conservation offenses) punishable only
by a fine which exceeds $1,000 shall be $1,0001,500. 

(c) Certain Other Offenses. Bail for any other offenses, including
violation of any ordinance of any unit of local government (other than
traffic or conservation offenses) punishable by fine or imprisonment
in a penal institution other than the penitentiary, or both, shall be
$1,0001,500, except as provided in paragraph (d) of this Rule 528 and
except that bail for Class C misdemeanors shall be $75120. 

(d) Domestic Violence Offenses. No bail is established under
these rules as provided in section 110–15 of the Code of Criminal
Procedure of 1963 (725 ILCS 5/110–15) for the offense of domestic
battery (720 ILCS 5/12–3.2), a violation of an order of protection
(720 ILCS 5/12–30), or any similar violation of a local ordinance. Bail
for these offenses shall be set by the court pursuant to statute.

Amended effective October 7, 1970; amended February 17, 1977,
effective April 1, 1977, in counties other than Cook, effective July 1,
1977, in Cook County; amended December 22, 1981, effective January
15, 1982; amended June 12, 1992, effective July 1, 1992; amended
March 19, 1997, effective April 15, 1997; amended October 22, 1999,
effective December 1, 1999; amended June 3, 2010, effective September
15, 2010.
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Amended Rule 530

Rule 530. Applicability of 10% Cash Deposit Statute

The 10% cash deposit provision of section 110–7 of the Code of
Criminal Procedure of 1963, as amended (725 ILCS 5/110–7), applies
in every case in which the amount of bail under these rules is
$7501,200 or more, except those cases involving truck violations
under Rule 526(b)(1) or similar municipal ordinances.

Amended effective October 7, 1970; amended February 17, 1977,
effective April 1, 1977, in counties other than Cook, effective July 1,
1977, in Cook County; amended December 22, 1981, effective January
15, 1982; amended April 27, 1984, effective July 1, 1984; amended June
26, 1987, effective August 1, 1987; amended June 19, 1989, effective
August 1, 1989; amended June 12, 1992, effective July 1, 1992;
amended September 30, 2002, effective immediately; amended June 3,
2010, effective September 15, 2010. 
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