Certificate of Admission/Good Standing to the Roll of Attorneys Licensed to Practice Law in Illinois
Certificate of Admission/Good Standing to the Master Roll of Attorneys Licensed to Practice Law in Illinois
New Fee Effective July 1, 2016
An attorney certificate of admission/good standing issued by the Supreme Court of Illinois may be requested for an attorney who is currently licensed by the Supreme Court of Illinois, except for an attorney who:
is currently suspended or disbarred from the practice of law in Illinois;
has been admitted pro hac vice in Illinois; or
has not taken the Illinois attorney's oath.
The fee for each certificate is $15. If multiple copies of the same certificate are requested, in addition to the $15 fee, each additional certificate is $5.
To obtain a certificate, send a written request containing the following information to the Clerk of the Supreme Court, Supreme Court Building, 200 East Capitol, Springfield, Illinois 62701-1721: your full name, address, phone, number, Illinois attorney registration number, date of admission, the number of certificates being requested and a check for the appropriate amount (made payable to the "Clerk of the Supreme Court of Illinois"). If applicable, also include with your request the name and address of any entity or third party you may wish to have the certificate of admission/good standing sent. If you are requesting certificates for multiple attorneys, please provide the above-referenced information for each attorney.
All certificates of admission/good standing will be mailed to the address you provide via regular mail. Requests to send a certificate via FedEx or UPS must include an airbill addressed from yourself to the entity or individual where the certification of admission/good standing should be sent (to avoid billing issues, the Supreme Court Clerk's office name and address should not appear on a return airbill).
Questions regarding a certificate of admission/good standing should be directed to the Office of the Clerk of the Supreme Court at (217) 782-2035.
Please note the certificate of admission/good standing does not include the disciplinary history of the attorney. If you are requesting your disciplinary history, please contact the Illinois Attorney Registration and Disciplinary Commission at www.iardc.org or by calling (312) 565-2600.