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ORDER

11 Held: Defendant did not forfeit his challenge to improper imposition of fines and fees
by failing to file a motion to vacate his guilty plea prior to appeal; the $50 court
system assessment is a fine; the $2 Public Defender and State's Attorney Records
Automation charges are fees; the $10 probation and court services operations
assessment is a fee; and the fines and fees order is amended to reflect the correct
total.

12 Defendant Gideon Stevens pled guilty to violation of the Sex Offender Registration Act
(730 ILCS 150/3(a) (West 2012)) for failure to re-register his address within one year from the
date of initial registration and was sentenced to 2 years' probation with 69 days credit for

presentence incarceration time served, and assessed $689 in fines, fees, and costs, among other
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requirements. On appeal, defendant contends several of the imposed fines and fees were
improperly assessed and that his presentence incarceration credit was not applied to several of
his fines. Defendant requests that we amend the order accordingly to reflect the correct amount
of $560 in fines, fees, and costs.

13 During the plea hearing, the trial court accepted defendant’s guilty plea after obtaining a
brief factual basis from the State. Defendant was convicted in Maryland in May 2005 of a sex
offense and subsequently moved to Illinois. On May 29, 2013, defendant was arrested for failing
to re-register his address by the required date, after Chicago police officers curbed his vehicle for
a minor traffic violation.

14 In addition to probation, the trial court credited defendant for 69 days of presentence
custody and assessed a total of $689 in fines, fees and costs which included, in part, a $50 court
system fee; $30 Children's Advocacy Center fine; $15 State Police Operations fee; $10 mental
health court fine; $10 probation and court services operations fine; $5 youth diversion/peer court
fine; $5 drug court fine; $5 electronic citation fee; $2 Public Defender Records Automation fee;
and a $2 State's Attorney Records Automation fee. A $500 sex offender fine is also listed on the
order but not included in the total assessed.

15 Defendant appeals from this order, alleging the $5 electronic citation fee and $500 sex
offender fine should be vacated, and that defendant's $5 per day incarceration credit should be
applied against the $50 court system fine, $30 Children's Advocacy Center fine, $15 State Police
Operations assessment, $10 mental health court fine, $10 probation and court services operations
fine, $5 youth diversion/peer court fine, $5 drug court fine, and the $2 Public Defender and
State's Attorney Records Automation fines, crediting defendant a total of $129 in improperly

applied fines and fees. Defendant's appeal was filed without moving to vacate his plea of guilty.
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16 Before we progress to the merits of defendant's claim, we must first address the State's
contention that his appeal should be dismissed for failure to file a motion to vacate his guilty plea
prior to his appeal in accordance with Illinois Supreme Court Rule 604(d) (eff. Dec. 11, 2014).
The State contends this mandatory requirement is a procedural bar to defendant's appeal and
requires its dismissal without proceeding to the merits for want of appellate jurisdiction.

17 The Illinois Supreme Court has generally held that a defendant convicted on a plea of
guilty must first file a timely motion to withdraw his plea as a condition precedent for appeal in
accordance with Rule 604(d). Ill. S. Ct. R. 604(d) (eff. Dec. 11, 2014); People v. Wilk, 124 Ill. 2d
93, 105 (1988). Although failure to comply with this rule does not deprive a reviewing court of
its jurisdiction as the State suggests, it generally requires any subsequent appeal to be
immediately dismissed without consideration on its merits. In re William M., 206 11l. 2d 595, 601
(2003); People v. Flowers, 208 1lI. 2d 291, 301, 308 (2003).

18  Our supreme court, however, has recognized certain exceptions that allow a reviewing
court to proceed to the merits despite noncompliance with Rule 604(d), including a challenge to
an alleged void order. See In re William M., 206 Ill. 2d at 601. Because a challenge to court-
ordered fines and fees presents a question of statutory interpretation, it constitutes an allegation
that the sentence is void. See People v. Elcock, 396 Ill. App. 3d 524, 538 (2009); People v.
Millsap, 2012 IL App (4th) 110668, 1 26. Challenges to an alleged void order are generally not
subject to forfeiture. People v. Marshall, 242 11l. 2d 285, 302 (2011). Therefore, defendant's
claim on appeal falls under an exception to Rule 604(d) and we may proceed to its merits.

19 On appeal, the reviewing court may modify the fines and fees order without remanding
the case back to the circuit court. Ill. S. Ct. R 615(b)(1) (eff. Aug. 27, 1999) ("[o]n appeal the

reviewing court may *** modify the judgment or order from which the appeal is taken"); People
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v. McCray, 273 Ill. App. 3d 396, 403 (1995) ("[rJemandment is unnecessary since this court has
the authority to directly order the clerk of the circuit court to make the necessary corrections").
Moreover, "courts have an independent duty to vacate void orders and may sua sponte declare an
order void." People v. Thompson, 209 Ill. 2d 19, 27 (2004). The propriety of court-ordered fines
and fees is reviewed de novo. Elcock, 396 Ill. App. 3d at 538.

110 We accept the State's concession that the $500 sex offender fine and the $5 electronic
citation fee should be vacated because they are inapplicable to defendant's offense. An electronic
citation fee may only be imposed when a defendant is convicted of a traffic violation and
therefore does not apply. See 705 ILCS 105/27.3e (West 2012). The sex offender fine may only
be imposed when defendant is convicted of a "sex offense” as defined by Section 2 of the Sex
Offender Registration Act which does not include failure to register. See 730 ILCS 150/2 (West
2012). The State also agrees, and we accept, that defendant's presentence incarceration credit
should be applied to the $30 Children's Advocacy Center fine, $15 State Police Operations
charge, $10 mental health court fine, and the $5 youth diversion/peer court and drug court
charges because they are fines, not fees. See People v. Graves, 235 Ill. 2d 244, 252 (2009);
People v. Jones, 397 Ill. App. 3d 651, 659 (2009); People v. Fort, 373 Ill. App. 3d 882, 884-89
(2007).

111 The State maintains, however, that defendant's presentence incarceration credit is not
applicable to offset the $50 court system charge, $2 Public Defender Records Automation
charge, $2 State's Attorney Records Automation charge, and $10 probation and court services
operations charge because presentence incarceration credit only offsets fines and these particular

charges are considered fees. Defendant disagrees and asks this court to consider them fines.
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112 Itis well-established that the presentence incarceration credit (725 ILCS 5/110-14(a)
(West 2012)) applies only to reduce fines, not fees. Jones, 223 Ill. 2d at 599. A fine is a punitive
charge imposed as punishment on a person convicted of a criminal offense. Id. at 581. A fee, in
contrast, is not pecuniary and seeks only to reimburse the State for expenses incurred for
prosecuting a particular defendant. See Graves, 235 Ill. 2d at 250. A charge may still be a fine or
fee despite the language used in the statute, depending on the particular attributes of the charge at
issue. Id. "Other factors to consider are whether the charge is only imposed after conviction and
to whom the payment is made." Id. at 251. However, the " 'central characteristic' " separating a
fine from a fee is whether the charge seeks to reimburse the State for costs incurred during
prosecution. (Emphasis in original.) Id. quoting Jones, 223 Ill. 2d at 596.

113  Applying the supreme court's analysis in Graves, this court has repeatedly held that the
court system assessment is a fine and not a fee. See People v. Ackerman, 2014 IL App (3d)
120585, 1 30; People v. Wynn, 2013 IL App (2d) 120575, § 17; People v. Smith, 2013 IL App
(2d) 120691, § 21. Furthermore, the Graves court specifically referred to this charge as a
"monetary penalty." Graves, 235 Ill. 2d at 253. As such, we reject the State's argument that this
charge is a fee because it compensates the county for the cost of providing a court system "which
IS necessary to prosecute a criminal defendant,” and disagree with the State's argument that Smith
was wrongly decided. Therefore, in accordance with Graves and our subsequent decisions,
defendant is entitled to presentence incarceration credit against the $50 court system assessment
because it is a fine.

114 Defendant also contends that the $2 Public Defender and $2 State's Attorney Records
Automation charges (55 ILCS 5/3-4012, 4-2002.1(c) (West 2012)) are fines and not fees because

they do not reimburse the State for costs incurred in prosecution. However, this court has
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previously held that the plain language of the statute clearly indicates that the State's Attorney
fee is meant specifically to reimburse the State for expenses related to automated record keeping
as a collateral function of the prosecutorial process and is not meant to be punitive in nature. See
People v. Warren, 2014 IL App (4th) 120721, 1 108; People v. Rogers, 2014 IL App (4th)
121088, 1 30. Additionally, because the statutory language of both the Public Defender and
State's Attorney Records Automation charges is identical except for the name of the organization
benefitting, we find no reason to draw a distinction between the two and conclude both charges
constitute fees. See 55 ILCS 5/3-4012, 4-2002.1(c) (West 2012).

115 Defendant makes the argument that requiring the court to determine whether a defendant
used the services of the public defender and address whether this charge constitutes a fine or a
fee on a case-by-case basis according to Rogers is unworkable. However, the record makes clear
defendant was represented by an appointed public defender, and consequently, this issue is
irrelevant in the case at hand. Therefore, the Public Defender Records Automation charge is also
a fee and defendant is not entitled to presentence incarceration credit against it or the State's
Attorney Records Automation fee.

116 Defendant next argues that he is entitled to apply presentence incarceration credit towards
the $10 probation and court services operations charge (705 ILCS 105/27.3a(1.1) (West 2012)).
Although defendant acknowledges this court's contrary holding in Rogers, 2014 IL App (4th)
121008, he asks us to depart from this holding because this charge is a blanket assessment
collected from every defendant only in addition to the imposition of a court automation fee, and
therefore, defendant argues it constitutes a penalty that cannot be considered a fee.

117 In Rogers, this court discussed the compensatory nature of probationary charges and held

that according to Graves, when the probation office is involved in the defendant's prosecution,
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for example, when defendant is eligible for probation and the probation office is used to conduct
a pretrial investigation report, this assessment constitutes a fee. See Rogers, 2014 IL App (4th)
121008, 11 37-38; accord People v. Bradford, 2014 IL App (4th) 130288, 11 39-40; see also
People v. White, 333 Ill. App. 3d 777, 782 (2002); People v. Despenza, 318 Ill. App. 3d 1155,
1157 (2001).

118 Here, like Rogers and Bradford, defendant was eligible for probation and the probation
office was used to create a pretrial investigation report. Furthermore, the trial court considered
the information contained in this report during sentencing in lieu of requesting a presentencing
report, and thus, the probation and court services operations assessment is reimbursing the State
for charges incurred in his prosecution. Moreover, this court has found that probation costs are
"fundamentally compensatory" in nature (White, 333 Ill. App. 3d at 782) and the case law
defendant cites does not support the proposition that an assessment is necessarily a penalty
because it is only collected in addition to another cost. Therefore, we decline to depart from our
holding in Rogers, and conclude the $10 probation and court services operations charge is a fee
which may not be offset by presentence incarceration credit.

119 In conclusion, we hereby vacate the $500 sex offender fine and $5 electronic citation fee,
and credit defendant's presentence incarceration time served against the $30 Children's Advocacy
Center fine, $15 State Police Operations fine, $10 mental health court fine, $5 youth
diversion/peer court and drug court fines, and $50 court system assessment, for a total amended
fines and fees order of $569. The circuit court's order is affirmed in all other respects including
with regard to the $2 Public Defender Records Automation fee, $2 State's Attorney Records

Automation fee, and the $10 probation and court services operations fee.
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120 Affirmed in part; vacated in part; the clerk of the circuit court is directed to correct the

fines and fees portion of sentencing order as set forth herein.



