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Held 
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Reporter of Decisions 
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the reader.) 

 

Pursuant to defendant’s appeal after he pled guilty to failing to register 
as a sex offender and was sentenced to probation, and then was 
convicted of aggravated battery and domestic battery while on 
probation and was sentenced to 30 months in the Department of 
Corrections for the battery offenses and a concurrent term of 30 
months for failing to register after his probation was revoked, the 
appellate court upheld the trial court’s order requiring defendant to 
pay the DNA analysis fee entered in the battery case and the trial court 
was directed to correct the mittimus to show two additional days of 
credit for defendant’s presentence incarceration and to enter a written 
order identifying the amount and nature of each charge ordered by the 
trial court and then allow the applicable $5-per-diem credit in each 
case. 
 
 
 

Decision Under  
Review 

Appeal from the Circuit Court of Tazewell County, Nos. 09-CF-36, 
11-CF-430; the Hon. Stuart P. Borden, Judge, presiding. 
 
 

Judgment Affirmed in part and remanded with directions. 
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Panel JUSTICE WRIGHT delivered the judgment of the court, with opinion. 
Justices Holdridge and O’Brien concurred in the judgment and 
opinion. 
 
 
 

    OPINION 
 

¶ 1  Defendant, Bruce A. Hill, pled guilty to failure to register as a sex offender (730 ILCS 
150/3(a) (West 2008)) and received a sentence of 24 months of probation in case No. 
09-CF-36. While on probation for that offense, defendant was convicted of aggravated battery 
(a Class 3 felony) (720 ILCS 5/12-4(b)(8) (West 2010)) and domestic battery (a Class A 
misdemeanor) (720 ILCS 5/12-3.2(a)(2) (West 2010)), in case No. 11-CF-430, and the trial 
court sentenced him to serve 30 months in the Illinois Department of Corrections (DOC). 
Consequently, the trial court revoked defendant’s probation in case No. 09-CF-36 and 
resentenced defendant to serve 30 months in the DOC, to be served concurrently with the 
sentence in case No. 11-CF-430. 

¶ 2  Defendant appeals both sentences, arguing the trial court improperly required him to pay a 
$200 deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) analysis fee in case No. 11-CF-430, failed to properly 
credit him for time served, and failed to reduce his monetary obligation by allowing a 
$5-per-diem credit against his fines for each day spent in presentencing custody. We affirm the 
imposition of the $200 DNA analysis fee and remand for the trial court to properly credit 
defendant for time served. 
 

¶ 3     FACTS 
¶ 4  In 1993, the State charged defendant with aggravated criminal sexual abuse in Peoria 

County case No. 93-CF-835 and defendant was convicted of that offense on July 11, 1995. 
According to an information sheet from the Illinois State Police (ISP) Division of Forensic 
Services, defendant’s “Blood Liquid” sample for DNA analysis was collected on July 11, 
1995. Fifteen years later, on December 31, 2008, defendant was arrested for failure to register 
as a sex offender based on the 1993 sex offense. 

¶ 5  Following his first appearance before the trial court on February 4, 2009, the court set a 
recognizance bond. In response to defendant’s inquiry on that date, the trial court explained 
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that defendant would not be required to post any money and was not being arrested. Defendant 
signed the written personal recognizance bond on February 4, 2009. 

¶ 6  On September 8, 2009, defendant pled guilty in case No. 09-CF-36 and received a sentence 
of 24 months of probation for the offense of failure to register as a sex offender. The record 
shows the clerk did not assess a DNA analysis fee in case No. 09-CF-36. Before defendant’s 
24-month term of probation expired in that case, defendant was charged with aggravated 
battery and domestic battery based on a June 10, 2011, incident between defendant and his 
girlfriend. 

¶ 7  Following a jury trial, the jury returned a verdict of guilty for the offense of aggravated 
battery and domestic battery as charged in case No. 11-CF-430. Subsequently, the court found 
defendant violated the terms of his 2009 probation, based in part on those new convictions, and 
conducted a joint sentencing hearing on April 5, 2012, for both case Nos. 09-CF-36 and 
11-CF-430. The presentence investigation (PSI) report prepared for the court indicated 
defendant was in custody for four days after his arrest in case No. 11-CF-430, specifically, 
June 10 through June 12, 2011, and December 21, 2011. 

¶ 8  In case No. 11-CF-430, defendant received a sentence of 30 months of imprisonment in the 
DOC with 2 days credit for time spent in presentence custody. In addition, the court ordered 
defendant to pay “the costs plus all mandatory assessments of this proceeding.” The trial 
court’s written order stated defendant should submit a DNA sample and pay a $200 DNA 
analysis fee “unless already on file.” The clerk’s summary included in this record shows the 
clerk calculated defendant’s financial penalties totaling $609, including a $200 “DNA 
Identification” fee in case No. 11-CF-430. However, the court’s order did not identify any 
specific fine or otherwise indicate a sum certain for the circuit clerk to assess against defendant 
in case No. 11-CF-430. 

¶ 9  In case No. 09-CF-36, the trial court sentenced defendant to a term of 30 months of 
imprisonment to run concurrent with his sentence in case No. 11-CF-430. Defendant was also 
ordered to pay “the costs plus all mandatory assessments” of the proceeding, including a DNA 
fee unless already on file. Defendant was not given any credit for time spent in presentence 
custody. However, the court’s order did not identify any specific fine or otherwise indicate a 
sum certain for the circuit clerk to assess against this defendant in case No. 09-CF-36. The 
circuit clerk’s case payment sheet shows the clerk assessed a total of $886, including $600 for 
the previously ordered $25 monthly probation service fees, but did not include a $200 DNA 
analysis fee following the violation of defendant’s probation. 

¶ 10  In each case defendant filed a motion to reconsider his sentence. Neither motion 
challenged the costs, fines, fees or credit for time served in either case. The trial court denied 
both motions on May 10, 2012. 

¶ 11  Defendant filed a timely notice of appeal in both cases, now consolidated for purposes of 
this appeal. Defendant also appended to his appellate brief an information sheet from the ISP 
Division of Forensic Services. This information sheet indicates defendant previously 
submitted a “Blood Liquid” sample on July 11, 1995, with a “STR complete date” of February 
9, 2000, “CODIS Own” and “CODIS Confirm” date of February 17, 2000, and an “analysis 
status” of January 23, 2005. 
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¶ 12     ANALYSIS 
¶ 13  On appeal, defendant requests this court vacate the DNA analysis fee in case No. 

11-CF-430, increase the number of days for sentencing credit for pretrial detention in that case 
from two days to four days, and allow defendant a $5-per-diem credit, for a total of $20 credit 
toward any fines imposed by the court for each day spent in custody. Without addressing 
procedural default, the State agrees this court should vacate the $200 DNA analysis fee and 
allow defendant credit for four days spent in custody. 

¶ 14  In case No. 09-CF-36, defendant requests at least two days of presentencing credit for time 
spent in custody and a remand for the trial court to calculate the proper amount of credit for 
time served before applying the $5-per-diem credit. The State opposes remand but concedes 
defendant should receive a $10 reduction in the $10 child advocacy fee, levied by the clerk, 
which qualifies as a fine. Because these issues pertain to those of statutory interpretation, our 
review is de novo. People v. Marshall, 242 Ill. 2d 285 (2011). 
 

¶ 15     I. DNA Analysis Fee 
¶ 16  First, we consider whether the issue related to the DNA analysis fee may be decided by this 

court. Here, the record clearly shows defendant did not preserve the purported error for our 
review in his motion to reconsider the sentence in case No. 11-CF-430. As in the case at bar, 
financial issues are being raised for the first time on appeal with increasing regularity. 
Typically, a defendant may avoid the consequences of procedural forfeiture by claiming the 
sentence imposed by the trial court is void. The case law provides a void order is subject to 
challenge for the first time on appellate review.  People v. Thompson, 209 Ill. 2d 19 (2004). 
However, defendant does not claim the sentence imposed with respect to the DNA analysis fee 
in case No. 11-CF-430 is void. 

¶ 17  In the interest of maintaining a uniform body of law, sua sponte, we consider first whether 
the court’s directive for defendant to pay the DNA analysis fee in case No. 11-CF-430 
constitutes a void order that can properly be considered by this court on review. Our analysis of 
this issue begins with a close examination of the judge’s sentencing pronouncement itself. 
Here, in case No. 11-CF-430, the court ordered defendant to submit a DNA sample and pay a 
$200 DNA analysis fee “unless already on file.” This directive is consistent with the holding in 
People v. Marshall, 242 Ill. 2d 285. 

¶ 18  On appeal, defendant does not assert the court previously ordered him to submit a DNA 
sample and pay a DNA analysis fee in case No. 93-CF-835. Instead, defendant relies on an 
information sheet provided by the ISP Division of Forensic Services showing defendant 
submitted a “Blood Liquid” sample for analysis on July 11, 1995. Although this document was 
not presented to the trial court, we will take judicial notice of it, as a public record, and 
recognize defendant submitted a DNA sample on July 11, 1995. See People v. Jimerson, 404 
Ill. App. 3d 621 (2010). 

¶ 19  In 1995, section 5-4-3 of the Unified Code of Corrections (Code) did not require trial 
courts to order any convicted felon to submit a DNA sample and pay a DNA analysis fee. 730 
ILCS 5/5-4-3 (West 1994). Years after defendant’s conviction in case No. 93-CF-835, our 
lawmakers amended section 5-4-3 to require only certain sex offenders, convicted after 
January 1, 1998, to submit a DNA sample and pay a $500 DNA analysis fee. 730 ILCS 
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5/5-4-3(a), (j) (West 1998). After August 22, 2002, all felony offenders, rather than simply 
sexual offenders, were required by statute to submit a DNA sample for analysis and pay a $200 
corresponding fee. 730 ILCS 5/5-4-3(a)(3.5) (West 2012). Obviously, defendant provided a 
DNA sample in 1995, long before a court or other agency had the statutory authority to charge 
any offender a DNA analysis fee pursuant to section 5-4-3, at issue in this appeal. 

¶ 20  Both parties cite to Marshall, 242 Ill. 2d 285, when urging this court to vacate the partially 
paid $200 DNA analysis fee in case No. 11-CF-430. However, in Marshall, the court held the 
sentencing order was void because that defendant had at least two previous felony convictions 
from 2002 and 2005. Id. at 289. Here, defendant has not challenged the court’s order on the 
basis of voidness. 

¶ 21  Although defendant urges us to consider information published on the Internet from the 
website “judici.com” when determining whether the clerk improperly assessed two DNA fees 
in the case now before us, we rely exclusively on the clerk’s “payment status information,” 
included in the common law record for our consideration.1 A careful review of the clerk’s 
costs sheets indicates the clerk imposed one DNA analysis fee, in case No. 11-CF-430, but did 
not assess a DNA analysis fee in case No. 09-CF-36. Thus, we conclude defendant is obligated 
to now pay his first DNA analysis fee in case No. 11-CF-430. 

¶ 22  Further, the clerk’s cost sheets demonstrate the clerk followed the trial court’s directive to 
first apply the $500 defendant paid as bail to the “payment of costs, mandatory assessments, 
restitution, fines, public defender fees and other assessments owed by the defendant in any 
other county case.” Apparently without objection from defendant, on June 12, 2012, the clerk 
applied $106 from defendant’s bail toward the $200 DNA analysis fee assessed, leaving a 
balance of $94. We presume this amount collected by the clerk was properly forwarded with 
dispatch to the State Offender DNA Identification System Fund shortly after imposition in 
2012. 730 ILCS 5/5-4-3(k)(2) (West 2012). The State’s concession of error fails to consider 
the partial payment of the DNA fee in this case. 

¶ 23  Based on the analysis set forth above, we conclude the record does not show defendant was 
previously ordered to pay any DNA analysis fee, pursuant to section 5-4-3 of the Code, prior to 
the date of sentencing in case No. 11-CF-430. Based on this record we are unable to conclude, 
and the parties do not assert, the court’s order requiring defendant to pay a DNA analysis fee in 
case No. 11-CF-430 constituted a void order. 

¶ 24  In addition, we conclude defendant’s challenge to the court’s order requiring defendant to 
pay a $200 DNA analysis fee in case No. 11-CF-430 has not been properly preserved for our 
review and decline to excuse this forfeiture. We affirm the imposition of the DNA analysis fee. 
 
 
 

                                                 
 1Defendant refers to printouts from the “judici.com” website, appended to his brief and dated 
September 27, 2013. This information, dated more than a year after the court announced the sentence, is 
not part of the record in this appeal. The practice of attempting to supplement the record without leave 
of court should be discouraged. See People v. Green, 2011 IL App (2d) 091123. Therefore, we 
disregard the “judici.com” printout and caution the parties from engaging in this practice of attempting 
to supplement the record with information from the Internet without leave of court. 
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¶ 25     II. Sentencing Credit 
¶ 26  Next, defendant argues he is entitled to sentencing credit for four days spent in 

presentencing custody in case No. 11-CF-430 and for at least two days in case No. 09-CF-36. 
Pursuant to section 5-8-7(b) of the Code, an offender “shall be given credit *** for time spent 
in custody as a result of the offense for which the sentence was imposed.” 730 ILCS 5/5-8-7(b) 
(West 2008).2 

¶ 27  Section 5-8-7(b) requires that credit be given for all time spent in custody for the same 
offense. People v. Whitmore, 313 Ill. App. 3d 117 (2000). A defendant in custody for any part 
of the day must be given credit against his sentence for that day. People v. Johnson, 396 Ill. 
App. 3d 1028 (2009). Because sentencing credit for time served is mandatory, a claim of error 
in the calculation of sentencing credit cannot be waived. Whitmore, 313 Ill. App. 3d 117. 

¶ 28  In case No. 11-CF-430, defendant was arrested on June 10, 2011, and remained in custody 
until he posted bail on June 12, 2011. He was again taken into custody following his jury trial 
on December 21, 2011, and released the same day after posting bail. Here, the trial court only 
gave defendant two days of credit. Therefore, we direct the trial court on remand to amend the 
mittimus in case No. 11-CF-430 to reflect two additional days of sentencing credit for a total 
sentencing credit of four days. 

¶ 29  In case No. 09-CF-36, defendant argues the record is ambiguous and he may have spent 
more than two days in presentence custody. Defendant points to a personal recognizance bond 
sheet which seems to indicate defendant was released pursuant to a recognizance bond on 
February 4, 2009, and may have been in custody on that date. This contention is not supported 
by the record which demonstrates the trial court informed defendant he would not have to post 
any money following his first appearance and he was not being arrested on that date. The PSI 
report indicates defendant spent two days in presentence custody. See People v. Scheib, 76 Ill. 
2d 244 (1979) (upon resentencing following probation revocation, the trial court must grant 
credit for time spent in presentencing custody on the original offense). Since the trial court did 
not allow two days credit for time served, we direct the trial court on remand to amend the 
mittimus in case No. 09-CF-36 to reflect two days of sentencing credit. 
 

¶ 30     III. $5-per-diem Credit 
¶ 31  Defendant argues he is entitled to a $5-per-diem credit in case No. 11-CF-430, for a total 

credit of $20 and a $5-per-diem credit, for a total credit of $10, in case No. 09-CF-36, against 
any fines ordered by the court. We agree defendant would be entitled to receive up to the 
$5-per-diem credit against his fines in each case for time served in presentence custody (four 
days in case No. 11-CF-430 and two days in case No. 09-CF-36). 725 ILCS 5/110-14 (West 
2010). 

¶ 32  As previously noted by this court, “trial judges have a complex and tedious task of 
identifying and ordering the statutory penalties depending on the nature of the offense due to 
ever-changing statutory requirements created by active lawmakers.” People v. Williams, 2014 
IL App (3d) 120240, ¶ 17 (citing People v. Holley, 377 Ill. App. 3d 809, 818 (2007) (Wright, 
J., specially concurring)). Often, a judge may find it necessary to delegate the task of 

                                                 
 2Now 730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-100(b) (West 2010). 
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calculating the mandatory statutory charges to the circuit clerk in the interest of judicial 
economy. 

¶ 33  The charges reflected in the clerk’s payment sheets include amounts that qualify as fines, 
such as the child advocacy fees assessed by the clerk and mentioned in the State’s brief. It is 
well established that the clerk of a court, as a nonjudicial member of the court, has no power to 
impose sentences or levy fines and, instead, only has authority to collect judicially imposed 
fines. People v. Williams, 2013 IL App (4th) 120313, ¶ 16. 

¶ 34  Since the clerk’s payment sheet does not include the mandatory domestic violence fine, 
applicable to an aggravated battery conviction involving a victim in a dating relationship with 
defendant, we suspect the court did not have an opportunity to review or approve the clerk’s 
calculations in either case. See 730 ILCS 5/5-9-1.5 (West 2010); 750 ILCS 60/103 (West 
2010). In case Nos. 09-CF-36 and 11-CF-430, the court did not order defendant to pay any 
specific fine. Based on this record, it is difficult to discern what, if any, fines the court intended 
to order defendant to pay. Therefore, we remand the matter to the trial court with directions to 
enter a written order identifying the amount and nature of each charge ordered by the court and, 
thereafter, allow the applicable $5-per-diem credit in each case. 
 

¶ 35     CONCLUSION 
¶ 36  The judgment of the circuit court of Tazewell County ordering defendant to pay a $200 

DNA analysis fee in case No. 11-CF-430 is affirmed, and both causes are remanded with 
directions. 
 

¶ 37  Affirmed in part and remanded with directions. 


