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On appeal from defendant’s conviction for aggravated domestic battery
and aggravated battery, his statutorily permissible 25-year sentence was
not an abuse of discretion, his argument on appeal that the trial court
exceeded its statutory authority in imposing a late fee and a collection fee
was dismissed due to the appellate court’s lack of jurisdiction where the
fees were assessed four months after defendants’ notice of appeal was
filed, but defendant was entitled to apply his credit for his presentence
incarceration to the $5 drug-court fee, which did constitute a fine, and the
$25 Violent Crime Victims Assistance Act assessment was reduced to $4
where defendant’s remaining fine was less than $40.

Appeal from the Circuit Court of Champaign County, No. 09-CF-356; the
Hon. Thomas J. Difanis, Judge, presiding.

Appeal dismissed in part; judgment affirmed in part as modified; cause
remanded with directions.



Counsel on Michael J. Pelletier, Karen Munoz, and Amber Gray, all of State
Appeal Appellate Defender’s Office, of Springfield, for appellee.
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Julia Rietz, State’s Attorney, of Urbana (Patrick Delfino, Robert J.
Biderman, and James C. Majors, all of State’s Attorneys Appellate
Prosecutor’s Office, of counsel), for the People.

JUSTICE POPE delivered the judgment of the court, with opinion.

Presiding Justice Knecht and Justice Appleton concurred in the judgment
and opinion.

OPINION

In July 2009, a jury convicted defendant, Maurice D. Jake, of aggravated domestic battery
(720 ILCS 5/12-3.3(a) (West 2008)) and aggravated battery (720 ILCS 5/12-4(b)(8) (West
2008)). In August 2009, the trial court sentenced defendant as a Class X offender pursuant
to section 5-5-3(c¢)(8) of the Unified Code of Corrections (Unified Code) (730 ILCS 5/5-5-
3(c)(8) (West 2008)) to 25 years’ imprisonment for aggravated domestic battery with 168
days’ sentence credit.

Defendant appeals, arguing (1) the trial court abused its discretion in sentencing
defendant to 25 years’ imprisonment, (2) the circuit clerk is without authority to assess a
$38.25 late fee and an $87.98 collection fee, (3) the trial court erred in failing to apply
defendant’s presentence credit toward his $5 drug-court fee, and (4) the $25 Violent Crime
Victims Assistance Fund (VCVA) assessment should be reduced to $4. We dismiss in part,
affirm in part as modified, and remand with directions.

[. BACKGROUND

In February 2009, the State charged defendant by information with aggravated domestic
battery (720 ILCS 5/12-3.3(a) (West 2008)) and aggravated battery (720 ILCS 5/12-4(b)(8)
(West2008)). At defendant’s July 2009 jury trial, the State presented the following evidence.
Chasity Barefield testified in February 2009, she lived in Paris, Illinois, with her boyfriend,
defendant. On February 23, 2009, defendant drove Barefield to her place of employment, a
Wal-Mart in Champaign, Illinois. Barefield testified she finished her shift at 10 p.m. and
hurried outside to the parking lot, where defendant was waiting. Defendant had driven to
Wal-Mart in Barefield’s vehicle and was waiting in the passenger seat of the vehicle.
Barefield entered the driver’s seat of the vehicle. Barefield testified that upon entering the
vehicle, she and defendant began to discuss a number that appeared on her cell phone bill.
Barefield told defendant she had not been unfaithful. Defendant then struck Barefield’s arm.
Barefield pulled out of the Wal-Mart parking lot and began to drive to the residence she
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shared with defendant in Paris. Barefield testified defendant repeatedly struck her during the
drive home. If Barefield slowed down, defendant hit her “harder.” The entire trip took 70
minutes. Barefield estimated defendant “beat” her for 45 minutes of the trip. Defendant had
beaten her on prior occasions.

On February 26, 2009, Barefield went to a hospital in Champaign, Illinois, and spoke
with a Champaign police officer. She testified the officer took photographs of the injuries
he observed. The State introduced into evidence the photographs the officer took of
Barefield’s injuries. The photographs showed bruises on various parts of her body, including
her eye, right arm, chest, legs, and hands.

Barefield experiences numbness in her little finger and the finger next to it as a result
of the beating. Barefield did not report her injuries until February 26, 2009, because she was
developing a plan and needed “help from work.”

Barefield testified defendant was identified in her cellular phone as “Reese.” The State
entered a photograph into evidence of a text message sent from “Rees” to Barefield at 7:16
p.m., on February 23, 2009. The message from “Rees” stated “Im beatin u.” At 7:17 p.m.,
amessage reading, “every fuckin 10 minut[ ]es like I told u,” was also sent from “Rees.” The
State entered into evidence a photograph of this text message as well. Barefield testified she
was afraid of defendant and he had threatened to kill or hurt her if she ever left him.

Barefield testified based on previous experiences, she knew if she had fought back during
the drive home on February 23, 2009, defendant would have punched her “harder.” She felt
if she had drawn attention to her vehicle during the drive home, the incident “would have
been worse than what it was.”

The jury found defendant guilty of aggravated domestic battery and aggravated battery.
The trial court determined the offense of aggravated battery merged with the conviction for
aggravated domestic battery. Thereafter, the court sentenced defendant as stated.

This appeal followed.

II. ANALYSIS

On appeal, defendant argues (1) the trial court abused its discretion in sentencing
defendant to 25 years’ imprisonment, (2) the circuit clerk is without authority to assess a
$38.25 late fee and an $87.98 collection fee, (3) the court erred in failing to apply defendant’s
presentence credit toward his $5 drug-court fee, and (4) the $25 VCVA assessment should
be reduced to $4.

A. Twenty-five-year Sentence
Defendant argues the trial court abused its discretion in imposing a 25-year sentence for
his aggravated-domestic-battery conviction. Trial courts are given broad discretion in
fashioning appropriate criminal sentences. People v. Stacey, 193 111. 2d 203, 209, 737 N.E.2d
626, 629 (2000). Absent an abuse of the court’s discretion, we will not alter the sentence on
review. Stacey, 193 1ll. 2d at 209-10, 737 N.E.2d at 629.

Based on defendant’s prior criminal history, the trial court was required to sentence
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defendant on his Class 2 felony as a Class X offender. See 730 ILCS 5/5-5-3(c)(8) (West
2008). The 25-year sentence was appropriate considering defendant’s scant rehabilitative
potential. Defendant’s criminal record dates back to 1994 when he was adjudicated
delinquent for aggravated battery. Since then, defendant has been convicted of unlawful
possession of a controlled substance with intent to deliver, unlawful possession of cannabis
with intent to deliver, unlawful delivery of a controlled substance, and numerous traffic
violations. In the presentence investigation (PSI) report, defendant characterized his actions
as “nothing other than a case of domestic battery, which was somehow, some way tripled into
serious felonies.”

The trial court stated it considered the PSI report, statutory factors in aggravation and
mitigation, comments of counsel, and defendant’s written comments. The court found several
applicable mitigating factors, including defendant’s age (31), his employment history, and
his prior child-support payments. The court found statutory factors in aggravation included
defendant’s prior juvenile and adult criminal history and the need for deterrence. The court
noted this was a deterrable offense. Defendant’s penchant for criminal activity, and the
court’s responsibility to deter future conduct of this sort, supports the court’s imposition of
a 25-year prison sentence. The court did not abuse its discretion in rendering the statutorily
permissible 25-year sentence.

B. Authority To Impose Late and Collection Fees

Next, defendant argues the circuit clerk exceeded her statutory authority in ordering him
to pay a $38.25 late fee and an $87.98 collection fee. On February 17, 2011, this court
directed the parties to (1) supplement the record with the date on which the circuit clerk
assessed the late fees and collection fees; (2) address the issue of this court’s authority to
review on direct appeal of a criminal judgment the late fees and collection fees that can be
assessed under section 124A-10 of the Code of Criminal Procedure of 1963 (Procedure
Code) (725 ILCS 5/124A-10 (West 2008)) only after the expiration of 30 days following
entry of the judgment; (3) address the issue of whether the late fees and collection fees
assessed by the circuit clerk under section 124A-10 of the Procedure Code (725 ILCS
5/124A-10 (West 2008)) are part of the criminal judgment or whether the fees are in the
nature of a separate civil penalty which must be challenged by a cause of action separate
from the criminal case; and (4) address the issue of whether a court-ordered payment
schedule was implemented in this case. We have now considered the supplemental briefs.

Section 124A-10 of the Procedure Code provides as follows:

“The property, real and personal, of a person who is convicted of an offense shall be
bound, and a lien is created on the property, both real and personal, of every offender, not
exempt from the enforcement of a judgment or attachment, from the time of finding the
indictment at least so far as will be sufficient to pay the fine and costs of prosecution.
The clerk of the court in which the conviction is had shall upon the expiration of 30 days
after judgment is entered issue a certified copy of the judgment for any fine that remains
unpaid, and all costs of conviction remaining unpaid. Unless a court ordered payment
schedule is implemented, the clerk of the court may add to any judgment a delinquency
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amount equal to 5% of the unpaid fines, costs, fees, and penalties that remain unpaid
after 30 days, 10% of the unpaid fines, costs, fees, and penalties that remain unpaid after
60 days, and 15% of the unpaid fines, costs, fees, and penalties that remain unpaid after
90 days. Notice to those parties affected may be made by signage posting or publication.
The clerk of the court may also after a period of 90 days release to credit reporting
agencies, information regarding unpaid amounts. The additional delinquency amounts
collected under this Section shall be used to defray additional administrative costs
incurred by the clerk of the court in collecting unpaid fines, costs, fees, and penalties.
The certified copy of the judgment shall state the day on which the arrest was made or
indictment found, as the case may be. Enforcement of the judgment may be directed to
the proper officer of any county in this State. The officer to whom the certified copy of
the judgment is delivered shall levy the judgment upon all the estate, real and personal,
of the defendant (not exempt from enforcement) possessed by him or her on the day of
the arrest or finding the indictment, as stated in the certified copy of the judgment and
any such property subsequently acquired; and the property so levied upon shall be
advertised and sold in the same manner as in civil cases, with the like rights to all parties
that may be interested in the property. It is not an objection to the selling of any property
under the judgment that the defendant is in custody for the fine or costs, or both.”
(Emphasis added.) 725 ILCS 5/124A-10 (West 2008).

Section 5-9-3(e) of the Unified Code provides the following:

“A default in the payment of a fine, fee, cost, order of restitution, judgment of bond
forfeiture, judgment order of forfeiture, or any installment thereof may be collected by
any and all means authorized for the collection of money judgments. The State’s
Attorney of the county in which the fine, fee, cost, order of restitution, judgment of bond
forfeiture, or judgment order of forfeiture was imposed may retain attorneys and private
collection agents for the purpose of collecting any default in payment of any fine, fee,
cost, order of restitution, judgment of bond forfeiture, judgment order of forfeiture, or
installment thereof. An additional fee of 30% of the delinquent amount is to be charged
to the offender for any amount of the fine, fee, cost, restitution, or judgment of bond
forfeiture or installment of the fine, fee, cost, restitution, or judgment of bond forfeiture
that remains unpaid after the time fixed for payment of the fine, fee, cost, restitution, or
judgment of bond forfeiture by the court. The additional fee shall be payable to the
State’s Attorney in order to compensate the State’s Attorney for costs incurred in
collecting the delinquent amount. The State’s Attorney may enter into agreements
assigning any portion of the fee to the retained attorneys or the private collection agent
retained by the State’s Attorney. Any agreement between the State’s Attorney and the
retained attorneys or collection agents shall require the approval of the Circuit Clerk of
that county. A default in payment of a fine, fee, cost, restitution, or judgment of bond
forfeiture shall draw interest at the rate of 9% per annum.” 730 ILCS 5/5-9-3(e) (West
2008).

The cardinal rule of statutory construction is to ascertain and give effect to the

legislature’s intent. People v. Diggins, 235 111. 2d 48, 54, 919 N.E.2d 327, 331 (2009). “The
best indicator of the legislature’s intent is the language of the statute, which must be
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accorded its plain and ordinary meaning.” Diggins, 235 I11. 2d at 54, 919 N.E.2d at 331. To
avoid rendering any part of the statute meaningless or superfluous, statutes are construed in
their entirety. Weather-Tite, Inc. v. University of St. Francis, 233 1l1. 2d 385, 389-90, 909
N.E.2d 830, 833 (2009). Where the statutory language is clear and unambiguous, a court
must apply the statute as written without resorting to aids of statutory construction. Solon v.
Midwest Medical Records Ass’n, 236 111. 2d 433, 440, 925 N.E.2d 1113, 1117 (2010).

Here, section 124A-10 of the Procedure Code states the clerk of the court “shall upon the
expiration of 30 days after judgment is entered issue a certified copy of the judgment for any
fine that remains unpaid, and all costs of conviction remaining unpaid.” 725 ILCS 5/124A-10
(West 2008). The judgment may be enforced on “[t]he property, real and personal, of a
person who is convicted of an offense.” 725 ILCS 5/124A-10 (West 2008). Further, the
statute provides property levied upon “shall be advertised and sold in the same manner as in
civil cases,” 725 ILCS 5/124A-10 (West 2008). Section 5-9-3(e) of the Unified Code states
“[a]n additional fee of 30% of the delinquent amount is to be charged to the offender” “in
order to compensate the State’s Attorney for costs incurred in collecting the delinquent
amount.” 730 ILCS 5/5-9-3(e) (West 2008).

Section 124A-10 of the Procedure Code does not exclude those individuals who are
convicted of an offense and sentenced to a prison term. While we agree with the State such
fees are authorized by statute, those statutes make clear the fees are in the nature of a separate
civil penalty which must be challenged by a cause of action separate from the criminal case.
Therefore, we decline to address this issue in the context of a criminal case. We note
defendant is represented by an attorney whose fees are being paid with tax dollars. We also
note court-appointed counsel is to represent defendant in criminal matters only. If a
defendant chooses to contest civil penalties assessed for nonpayment of a judgment he or she
can do so pro se or can hire an attorney for that purpose.

Further, the late and collection fees imposed were not assessed until after defendant filed
his notice of appeal. A notice of appeal provides a reviewing court with jurisdiction to
consider only the judgments specified in the notice of appeal. People v. Lewis, 234 1ll. 2d 32,
37,912 N.E.2d 1220, 1223 (2009). Once the notice of appeal is filed, the reviewing court has
no jurisdiction over matters the trial court decides after that date. Mitchell v. Atwood
Enterprises, Inc.,253 1ll. App.3d 475,478,624 N.E.2d 878, 881 (1993). The final judgment
in a criminal case is the sentence. People v. Caballero, 102 11l. 2d 23, 51, 464 N.E.2d 223,
236-37 (1984). Here, the trial court sentenced defendant on August 12, 2009. As a result,
defendant had to file a notice of appeal within 30 days after the judgment or within 30 days
after the trial court disposed of the last timely filed motion directed against the judgment. See
1. S. Ct. R. 606(b) (eff. Sept. 1, 2006). Defendant filed a motion for reconsideration of
sentence on August 14, 2009, and a notice of appeal on October 13, 2009. The clerk assessed
late and collection fees on February 9, 2010, six months after judgment and four months after
defendant filed his notice of appeal. Thus, we do not have jurisdiction to consider the merits
of defendant’s argument and, accordingly, dismiss this portion of defendant’s appeal.



q25
126

€27

q28

129

130
131

132

133

134

C. $5-Per-Day Credit

Defendant argues, and the State concedes, defendant should receive monetary credit for
time spent in custody against the $5 drug-court fee imposed by the trial court pursuant to
section 5-1101(f)(2) of the Counties Code (55 ILCS 5/5-1101(f)(2) (West 2008)).

Section 110-14(a) of the Procedure Code provides the following:

“Any person incarcerated on a bailable offense who does not supply bail and against
whom a fine is levied on conviction of such offense shall be allowed a credit of $5 for
each day so incarcerated upon application of the defendant.” 725 ILCS 5/110-14(a) (West
2008).

In this case, it is undisputed defendant was incarcerated 168 days on a bailable offense.
As a result, defendant has $840 in available credit against fines. The State concedes the $5
drug-court “fee” is actually a fine because the record does not show it was sought to
reimburse the State for any cost incurred as a result of prosecuting defendant. Following our
review of the record, we accept the State’s concession and agree.

The central characteristic separating a fee from a fine is how the attributes of the charge
are to be used. See People v. Paige, 378 1ll. App. 3d 95, 102, 880 N.E.2d 675, 682 (2007).
“[A] ‘charge is a fee if and only if it is intended to reimburse the state for some cost incurred
in [the] defendant’s prosecution. [Citations.]’ ” Paige, 378 Ill. App. 3d at 102, 880 N.E.2d
at 682 (quoting People v. Jones, 223 1ll. 2d 569, 600, 861 N.E.2d 967, 986 (2006)). The
revenue from the charges imposed under section 5-1101(f)(2) are intended to be used “for
the operation and administration of the drug court” (55 ILCS 5/5-1101(f) (West 2008)) and
not to reimburse the State for costs incurred as a result of prosecuting defendant, who was
not transferred to drug court. As aresult, the $5 assessment is a fine. Because the assessment
is a fine, defendant is entitled to apply his available $840 available credit toward that
assessment.

D. VCVA Assessment

Defendant argues the $25 VCVA fine should be reduced to $4, and the State concedes
the fine should be reduced to $4.

Pursuant to section 10(c)(1) of the Violent Crime Victims Assistance Act, the $25 VCVA
assessment defendant received is to be imposed only where the defendant is convicted of a
qualifying felony and no other fine is imposed. See 725 ILCS 240/10(c)(1) (West 2008).

In this case, the $5 drug-court assessment is a fine because the record does not show it
was sought to reimburse the State for any costs incurred in defendant’s prosecution. See
Paige, 378 11l. App. 3d at 102, 880 N.E.2d at 682.

Where another fine is imposed, section 10(b) of the Violent Crime Victims Assistance
Act requires “there shall be an additional penalty collected *** upon conviction *** of $4
for each $40, or fraction thereof, of fine imposed.” 725 ILCS 240/10(b) (West 2008). In this
case, the drug-court fine is $5. Accordingly, defendant’s VCVA assessment should be
modified to $4 because the remaining fine totals less than $40. See 725 ILCS 240/10(b)
(West 2008).
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III. CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, we dismiss those parts of the appeal for which we lack
jurisdiction. We remand for the application of defendant’s $840 available credit toward the
$5 drug-court fee and a reduction of the VCV A assessment to $4. We otherwise affirm the
trial court’s judgment. Because the State successfully defended a portion of the criminal
judgment, we grant the State its $50 statutory assessment against defendant as costs of this
appeal. See People v. Smith, 133 1ll. App. 3d 613, 620, 479 N.E.2d 328, 333 (1985) (citing
People v. Nicholls, 71 111. 2d 166, 178, 374 N.E.2d 194, 199 (1978)).

Appeal dismissed in part; judgment affirmed in part as modified; cause remanded with
directions.



